Namly House

Namly House

Singapore | View Map
Alloggi Privati

Villa designed for multi-generational tropical living impresses judges

World Architecture Festival come Associazione

Namly House, Singapore, designed by Chang Architects, has won the ‘World’s Best Villa’ award at the prestigious World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards 2013.

The judging of the WAF Awards is taking place during the largest global celebration of architecture - the World Architecture Festival, which is being held at the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore this week.

Namly House in Singapore was designed for multi-generation living, to house three generations under one roof without having to compromise on freedom, differing needs and the privacies of each generation. By locating the rooms at different levels and using air wells and plants as separators, the villa’s configuration sets a balance in terms of privacies, foster interaction and harmonious living amongst the generations.

The building was selected by a jury of some of the world's most dynamic architectural and urban designers. It overcame competition from a shortlist of 11 entries.

The jury commended the project, saying, “The use and manipulation of light, material and greenery to overcome the limitations of a typical tight plot in Singapore was delightful. It was impressive to see how the challenges and needs of multi-generational family dynamics were dealt with through clear spatial design strategy. Overall, the quality of entries made judging difficult.”

This is the 6th year the World Architecture Festival Awards have been presented, and by the end of the festival 32 WAF Awards will have been announced across the three main sections of Completed Buildings, Landscape and Future Projects.

Projects entered this year, against a challenging economic climate, reflect the festival’s theme of ‘Value and Values’ demonstrating the core factors that inform the relationship between perceptions of financial value and the values that architects typically hold regarding their work. The awards programme will culminate with the announcement of the coveted World Building of the Year Award, which will be selected by the festival’s super-jury. It will be chaired by Ken Tadashi Oshima of The University of Washington. The highly esteemed international judging panel also includes Ken Yeang - Llewelyn Davies Yeang; Patrick Bellew - Atelier Ten; Jeanne Gang - Studio Gang Architects and Dietmar Eberle - Baumschlager Eberle.

Paul Finch, WAF Programme Director, said: ‘This year’s festival is already proving to be the largest, most well-attended and most exciting event to date. The strength of the entries in this year’s awards has even surpassed the very high standards set in previous years, ensuring that each category is extremely competitive. Today’s category winners will now compete for the festival’s ultimate prize, The World Building of the Year award, and our super-jury will certainly face some tough decisions given the calibre of today’s winning projects.”

Previous winners of the World Building of the Year Award include Luigi Bocconi University, Milan, designed by Irish practice Grafton Architects (2008); Mapungubwe Interpretation Centre in South Africa, designed by Peter Rich Architects of Johannesburg (2009); MAXXI (National Museum of the 21st Century Arts) in Rome, designed by Zaha Hadid Architects (2010); Media TIC, designed by Cloud 9 Architects (2011); Gardens By The Bay, designed by Wilkinson Eyre, Grant Associates, Atelier One and Atelier Ten (2012).

Crediti Progetto
Grand Avenue Park Bridge
progetto successivo

Grand Avenue Park Bridge

Everett, WA, USA - Edificio completato in 2020
Visualizza Progetto