Native Child and Family Services of Toronto

Native Child and Family Services of Toronto

Architecte
Levitt Goodman Architects
Lieu
30 College Street, Toronto, ON, Canada | View Map
Année du projet
2008
Catégorie
Centres communautaires
Jesse Colin Jackson
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
Carpet tilesInterface
Flor
LightingCastor Design
Vertical Tube Light
longhouse custom tableAndrew Reesor
PaintDulux Canada
Floor and Wall ManufacturerMCM Inc

Fiche technique du produit
Carpet tiles
Flor by Interface
Lighting
Vertical Tube Light by Castor Design
longhouse custom table
Paint
Floor and Wall Manufacturer
by MCM Inc

Services à l'enfance et à la famille autochtones de Toronto

Levitt Goodman Architects en tant que Architectes.

Le nouveau Services à l'enfance et à la famille autochtones de Toronto (NCFST) regroupe les services sociaux et culturels destinés aux enfants et aux familles autochtones dans un bâtiment de 30 000 pieds carrés situé au cœur du centre-ville de Toronto. Le défi pour ce projet était de créer un lieu qui permettrait de reconnecter les autochtones urbains avec la nature au cœur de la ville et de projeter une présence visuelle audacieuse pour la communauté des Premières Nations - ce qui était difficile à concevoir pour une communauté composée de bandes distinctes ayant leurs propres identités et coutumes.

 

Inauguré en juin 2010, l'ancien bâtiment administratif des années 1980 abrite aujourd'hui une halte-garderie, un atelier d'artiste autochtone, des bureaux pour la famille, la santé mentale, les services sociaux et l'administration, ainsi qu'une version contemporaine d'une longue maison et un pavillon de soins sur le toit et un grand cercle entouré d'un jardin luxuriant sur le toit. Ces espaces spéciaux sont utilisés de manière formelle et informelle pour des assemblées et des cérémonies publiques, des séances de tambour et de cercle ainsi que pour des conseils, des réunions et des jeux.

 

Les architectes ont collaboré avec des artistes autochtones, un graphiste et un architecte paysagiste pour défier le centre avec de l'art, des graphiques environnementaux, des matériaux naturels et des plantations qui sont indigènes à la région des Grands Lacs. Ces caractéristiques confèrent au bâtiment son identité culturelle et adoucissent également sa nature institutionnelle.

 

Des graphiques à grande échelle tapissent les murs et les sols intérieurs, en utilisant avec soin des images qui sont culturellement larges, dignes et contemporaines. Par exemple, les textiles autochtones de la région ont inspiré le motif "tissé" stylisé du sol. Il est destiné à servir de tapis de bienvenue géant qui relie les entrées nord et sud du bâtiment. La palette de matériaux du bâtiment est composée de matériaux locaux inhabituels, dont le bois de cœur de bouleau jaune, le cèdre blanc de l'Est, le calcaire d'Erimosa, la roche de rivière et l'ardoise rouge. Des plantes vertes descendent en cascade le long d'un mur vertical qui s'élève derrière la réception au rez-de-chaussée pour unir l'intérieur à la nature et relier les quatre étages au jardin sur le toit qui comporte une grande fosse, des "collines d'enseignement" vertes et des plantations agricoles indigènes, notamment de l'herbe douce, de la sauge, du tabac, du maïs, des haricots et des courges. Les bureaux ont été conçus en tenant compte des coutumes et des sensibilités autochtones. Par exemple, dans le domaine de la protection de l'enfance, les salles de réunion qui seraient traditionnellement équipées de miroirs sans tain et de caméras sont plutôt de style salon avec des rideaux diaphanes qui donnent de l'intimité tout en permettant une observation occasionnelle.

 

Le directeur exécutif du NCFST, Kenn Richard, est fier de la façon dont le bâtiment fonctionne en tant que lieu de rencontre, de stimulation et de relance des relations, et de réception de services. Il déclare : "C'est incroyable le sentiment de fierté qui s'exprime avec tant d'audace, avec ses images et ses métaphores. Je pense que le bâtiment va s'améliorer avec le temps, en tant qu'expérience authentique des autochtones dans un environnement qui n'est pas autochtone. Cela parle de survie et cela pourrait être son plus grand héritage".

 

Matériaux utilisés :

  1. Walls - ICI Duluxpaint
  2. Floors - Existing Concrete Floor Polishing & Stencil Dye – Retro Plate System by BNE Contractors Inc, Interface FLOR carpet tile
  3. Lighting - Castor Canadensis
  4. Furniture - Andrew Reesor (longhouse custom table)
  5. Floor Manufacturer - MCM Inc
  6. Wall Manufacturer - MCM Inc
Cette histoire est disponible en plusieurs langues
Melar Operations
prochain projet

Melar Operations

Bureaux
St Julian's, Malta - Construction terminée in 2017
Voir le projet

Native Child and Family Services of Toronto

Native Child and Family Services of Toronto

Architect
Levitt Goodman Architects
Location
30 College Street, Toronto, ON, Canada | View Map
Project Year
2008
Category
Community Centres
Jesse Colin Jackson
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
Carpet tilesInterface
Flor
LightingCastor Design
Vertical Tube Light
longhouse custom tableAndrew Reesor
PaintDulux Canada
Floor and Wall ManufacturerMCM Inc

Product Spec Sheet
Carpet tiles
Flor by Interface
Lighting
Vertical Tube Light by Castor Design
longhouse custom table
Paint
Floor and Wall Manufacturer
by MCM Inc

Native Child and Family Services of Toronto

Levitt Goodman Architects as Architects

The new Native Child and Family Services of Toronto (NCFST) consolidates social and culture-based services for aboriginal children and families within a 30,000 square foot offi ce building in the heart of downtown Toronto. The challenge for this project was to create a place that would reconnect urban aboriginals with nature in the heart of the city and project a bold visual presence for the First Nations community – which was diffi cult to conceive for a community that is comprised of distinctive bands with their own identities and customs.

 

Opened in June 2010, the former 1980s offi ce building now houses a drop-in childcare centre, an aboriginal artist studio, family, mental health, social services and administration offi ces as well as a contemporary iteration of a longhouse and a rooftop healing lodge and fi re circle surrounded by a lush roof garden. These special spaces are used both formally and informally for public assemblies and ceremonies, drumming and circle sessions and for counseling, meetings and playtime.

 

The architects collaborated with aboriginal artists, a graphic designer and a landscape architect to defi ne the centre with art, environmental graphics, natural materials and plantings that are native to the Great Lakes region. These features give the building its cultural identity and also soften its institutional nature.

 

Large-scale graphics line the interior walls and fl oors, carefully using images that are culturally broad, dignifi ed and contemporary. For example, regional aboriginal textiles inspired the stylized “woven” motif pattern on the ground fl oor. It is meant to function as a giant welcome mat that links the building’s north and south entrances. The building’s material palette is comprised of unusual local materials including yellow birch heartwood, eastern white cedar, Erimosa limestone, river rock and red slate. Green plants cascade down a vertical wall that rises from behind the ground fl oor reception desk to unite the interior with nature and connect all four fl oors to the rooftop garden that has a fi re pit, green “teaching hills” and native agricultural plantings including sweet grass, sage, tobacco, corn, beans and squash. The offi ces were designed with aboriginal customs and sensitivities in mind. For example, in the child welfare area, meeting rooms that would conventionally have two-way mirrors and cameras are instead in the style of living rooms with diaphanous curtains that give privacy while also permitting casual observation.

 

NCFST’s Executive Director, Kenn Richard is proud of how the building is functioning as a place to meet, to kindle and rekindle relationships, and to receive services. He says, “It’s amazing the sense of pride that is being so boldly displayed, with its images and metaphors. I believe that the building will over time just get better in its role as a authentic Native experience in an otherwise non Native environment. This speaks of survival and this might be its greatest legacy.”

 

Material Used :
1. Walls - ICI Dulux paint
2. Floors - Existing Concrete Floor Polishing & Stencil Dye – Retro Plate System by BNE Contractors Inc, Interface FLOR carpet tile
3. Lighting - Castor Canadensis
4. Furniture - Andrew Reesor (longhouse custom table)
5. Floor Manufacturer - MCM Inc
6. Wall Manufacturer - MCM Inc

This story is available in multiple languages
King Home Appliances Office And Showroom
next project

King Home Appliances Office And Showroom

Offices
İstanbul, Turkey - Build completed in 2021
View Project