One ring, torulethem all (Audi at the IAA 2011)

One ring, torulethem all (Audi at the IAA 2011)

Architekt
SCHMIDHUBER
Standort
Trade fair, IAA 2011, Frankfurt/Main, Germany | View Map
Projektjahr
2011
Kategorie
Pavillons
Andreas Keller

Audi Ring – Audi brand pavilion

SCHMIDHUBER als Architecture and concept

Auf dem zentralen Platz der Frankfurter Messe, der Agora, präsentiert sich Audi auf der IAA 2011 erstmals mit einem eigenen freistehenden Gebäude: dem Audi Ring. Herzstück dieses 100 m langen, 70 m breiten und 12 m hohen Messe-Pavillons ist eine integrierte Fahrbahn über zwei Ebenen, auf der bis zu neun Fahrzeuge –  durch langgezogene Fassadenöffnungen auch von außen sichtbar – gleichzeitig unterwegs sein werden.

 

Raumkonzept und Inszenierung vermitteln Dynamik, Innovation und Hochwertigkeit: Bewegung und Progression sind an jeder Stelle des Gebäudes ablesbar. Die von fließenden Formen, gekurvten Linien und überraschenden Übergängen geprägte Architektur bindet Fassadenkonturen, Ein- und Durchgänge in ein übergreifendes Konzept ein, das zusammen mit der multimedialen Bespielung und den interaktiven Exponaten den Markenkern »Vorsprung durch Technik« und die zukunftsorientierte Positionierung von Audi erlebbar macht. Aufbauend auf die langjährige Zusammenarbeit setzt der Audi Ring als Ergebnis einer konsequenten Evolution die vorangegangenen Messeauftritte schlüssig fort.

 

Der Besucher-Rundgang beginnt in der »Grand Hall«, wo die gesamte Bandbreite der neuesten Audi-Modelle präsentiert wird. In dem sich anschließenden Technik-Park stehen die Technologien »Audi ultra«, »Audi connect« und »Audi e-tron« im Fokus – visualisiert durch interaktive Exponate wie z.B. Fahrzeugmodelle aus Acryl, in die der Besucher mittels Holographie verschiedene Inhalte projizieren kann. Drei Höhepunkte bilden den Abschluss des Besuchs: die Inszenierung der ShowcarsAudi A2 concept, Audi urban conceptund die multimediale Markenshow, in der reale und virtuelle Elemente, Raumdramaturgie und Kommunikation in einer ungewöhnlichen Inszenierung verschmelzen.

 

Architektur und Kommunikation schaffen mit dem Audi Ring ein unmittelbares, ganzheitliches und damit nachwirkendes Markenerlebnis. Alles ist auf die Einbindung des Besuchers ausgerichtet –manifestiert durch die Möglichkeit, auf der 400 m langen Fahrstrecke des Audi Rings ausgewählte Fahrzeuge live zu erleben.

Read story in English

Projekt-Kredite
Architecture and concept
Communication and media
Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

One ring, torulethem all (Audi at the IAA 2011)

One ring, torulethem all (Audi at the IAA 2011)

Architect
SCHMIDHUBER
Location
Trade fair, IAA 2011, Frankfurt/Main, Germany | View Map
Project Year
2011
Category
Pavilions
Andreas Keller

Audi Ring – Audi brand pavilion

SCHMIDHUBER as Architecture and concept

The Agora the central square of the Frankfurt Trade Fair, will set the stage for Audi's very first appearance at the Frankfurt Motor Show 2011 with a separate, freestanding building – the Audi Ring. At the heart of the 100-meter long, 70-meter wide, and 12-meter high trade show pavilion is an integrated driving track, where up to nine vehicles will be moving simultaneously on two levels – visible also from the outside via elongated openings in the façade. The trade show presentation was developed by brand architects Schmidhuber + Partner (concept and architecture) in cooperation with the brand agency KMS TEAM (communications and media content.

 

The spatial concept and staging convey dynamism, innovation, and premium value: movement and progression are discernible from every point of the building. The architecture is characterized by flowing forms, curved lines, and surprising transitions, incorporating façade contours, entrances, and passages into an overall concept. Together with the multi-media displays and interactive exhibits, they render the core brand message "Vorsprungdurch Technik" (technological edge) and the future-oriented positioning of Audi into a sensual experience. Building on a long-standing partnership, the Audi Ring continues on from previous trade show appearances as the result of a consistent evolution.

 

The visitor tour starts in the "Grand Hall" where the complete range of latest Audi models is presented. The adjoining technology park focuses on technologies such as "Audi ultra", "Audi connect", and Audi e-tron" which are communicated via interactive exhibits including vehicle models made from acrylic, into which visitors can project diverse content holographically. At the end of the tour, three highlights await: the staging of the show cars Audi A2 concept and Audi urban concept as well as the multi-media brand show, where real and virtual elements, spatial dramaturgy, and communication are perfectly choreographed to blend into one.

 

With its architecture and communications strategy, the Audi Ring creates an authentic, holistic brand experience which leaves a long-lasting effect. Everything is geared towards involving the visitor – nowhere else is this as evident as on the 400-metre long driving track of the Audi Ring, where selected vehicles can be experienced first-hand.

This story is available in multiple languages
Project Credits
Architecture and concept
Communication and media
SCAPE
next project

SCAPE

Private Houses
Yamagata Prefecture, Japan - Build completed in 2020
View Project