The Joenniemi Manor area, its buildings and its park, create at the moment a unique ensemble, whereby the qualities of buildings and nature reinforce each other. The manor’s main building, the residential palace built by Gösta Serlachius, is the natural focal point of the ensemble and hosts since 1945 the Gösta Serlachius Art Collection, one of the Nordic countries’ most significant private collections.The total area of the extension to be built on Joenniemi Manor´s surroundings will quintuple the available museum space compared to present time.
In order to fit the relatively large amount of program in the nature and scale of the existing manor, the program was divided into several small buildings. The new buildings for offices and ticket sales/museum shop, complete the urban ensemble on the northern side of the manor and form a square with the existing buildings and hedges: Serlachius square. This square is the formal and functional entrance of the Joenniemi Manor area and the museum site.
The extension of the museum is located on the adjacent Taavetsinsaari Island, and can be divided into a covered path and several rooms. The path follows a height line on the island and is sometimes narrow, giving the visitor a feeling of walking through nature, while on other occasions the path widens and gives space for the entrance lobby, restaurant and assembly hall. The rooms located outside the path contain the exhibition spaces (temporary exhibition spaces and permanent collection) and the rooms on the inside of the path contain the service programme (wardrobe, toilets, handling, art storage, preparation kitchen, archives and conservation). A bridge that used to connect the existing manor with the island will be restored, connection the Serlachius square with the new museum.