Dianna Snape


Architects from 246 Bourke Street, Victoria, Australia
Lyons is an architectural and urban design practice based in Melbourne, Australia. The firm designs projects which are responsive to and expressive of a contemporary experience of local and global culture - a world of ideas, new media, technologies and rapidly changing urbanism. Lyons work is committed to and interested in the history and culture of ideas and how ideas can be used to create meaningful contemporary architecture.
As a practice Lyons collaborates with its clients and project stakeholders in order to make each project unique and uses specialist methodologies to understand the underlying vision that each client has for their project.
With over 80 creative staff, Lyons is one of Australia's largest design practices and has the expertise and proven capability to deliver complex large projects.
Lyons offers specialist design expertise in the following areas:
•higher education and training facilities
•university projects and new learning environments
•cultural projects
•civic and public buildings
•research facilities and specialist laboratories
•healthcare and hospital facilities
•commercial offices
•court houses and justice facilities
•urban design projects
•residential projects
•interior architecture
Lyons' design reputation is evidenced through numerous awards for its work, including the Victorian Architecture Medal, numerous national and international sustainability awards, representation at the Australian National Pavilion at the Venice Architecture Biennale and other national awards for architectural design.
The practice's projects have been published nationally and internationally in publications which include the A-Z of Modern Architecture, Phaidon World Atlas of Contemporary Architecture, Architecture Australia, Architectural Review ,Australian Architecture Now and Taschen's Modern Architecture A-Z.
Lyons creative team is committed to extending the local and international architectural discourse through ongoing design research, studio teaching, writing and lecturing about architecture and design.
Lyons was established in 1996, and is led by its five Directors Corbett Lyon, Cameron Lyon, Carey Lyon, Neil Appleton, Adrian Stanic its four Principals Peter Bartlett, Rob Tursi, Stefano Scalzo, James Wilson and Associates Hari Pliambas, Edward Berry, Clare Connan and Neel Charitra.