The 1891 landmark and National Register building is characterized by its rusticated stone base, segmental arches and symmetrically grouped windows. Notable architect Stephen Decatur Hatch was contracted by Fleming Smith to design the warehouse in an amalgamation of Romanesque Revival and neo-Flemish architectural styles. This was the first commercial building in Tribeca to be converted for residential use in the late 1970s. In addition to the restoration work to address necessary repairs to the exterior, many of the building’s original details had been lost – all the original copper finials had been removed from the building by the mid-1980s.
Scott Henson Architect led the efforts to match and repair the brownstone to its original form as well as repointing the brick to ensure the long-term stability of the building envelope. The restoration work included masonry reconstruction, repairs to the original stone cladding, historic wood window replacement and cast-iron restoration. The firm undertook the historic research needed to determine the original design of the finials, working closely with craftsman Wayne Coleman (Copperwork dba) in upstate New York for fabrication. The firm needed to design a more secure attachment to ensure their future longevity. By opening the dormers where the finials originally adorned the peaks of the Watts Street façade, Scott Henson Architect was able to develop a secure pinning strategy and designed the finials to withstand hurricane-force winds. The project showcases a nuanced approach to façade restoration that characterizes Scott Henson Architect’s work to match the original architectural details and embodies the firm‘s approach to building stewardship.
Material Used :
1. Copper – Finials for roof, flashing
2. Yellow brick – facade
5. Glass restoration
6. Cast iron – balconies and fence