Simply Marvellous

Simply Marvellous

Architecte
Imagine
Lieu
Montreal, QC, Canada | View Map
Année du projet
2020
Catégorie
Maisons privées
Annie Fafard
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
Lighting Artemide
PIRCE | Pendant lamp
FournisseursRamacieri Soligo
FournisseursCERAGRES
FournisseursAtelier Gris
FabricantsCiot
Cabinet makerEbenisterie Charlebois

Fiche technique du produit
Lighting
PIRCE | Pendant lamp by Artemide
Fournisseurs
Fournisseurs
Fournisseurs
Fabricants
by Ciot
Cabinet maker

Tout simplement merveilleux

Imagine en tant que Architectes.

Reconnue pour son expertise et sa créativité en matière de design d'intérieur de haute qualité pour de grands projets corporatifs et résidentiels, l'agence montréalaise Imagine est heureuse de dévoiler la Maison Merveilleuse, une maison de ville de 1500 pieds carrés entièrement rénovée dans le secteur Pointe-Saint-Charles. Conceptualisé par la propriétaire, Mélodie Violet, designer d'intérieur et fondatrice d'Imagine, le projet consiste en une rénovation complète de cette maison de ville du 19e siècle, avec un nouvel aménagement et une signature design moderne et élégante.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

De nouveaux départs

Le projet a commencé par une nouvelle stratégie structurelle et le renforcement des fondations originales de la maison de ville, construite en 1875. Imagine a ensuite porté son attention sur une toute nouvelle disposition, en ajoutant de nouvelles pièces et en créant un plan d'étage ouvert au niveau principal, qui se traduit par une série d'espaces de vie modernes pour encadrer la vision globale du design intérieur. Le concept prévoit également une séparation entre les espaces privés de la maison et les espaces professionnels du bureau Imagine, situé à l'avant de la maison.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

"Il était important d'établir des limites distinctes entre le bureau, qui doit pouvoir accueillir des clients, et les espaces privés, plus intimes, de la maison", explique Mélodie Violet, fondatrice du cabinet et propriétaire de la maison de ville. "Nous avons pu accomplir cette division tout en conservant une seule entrée principale pour la maison".

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

 

L'entrée spacieuse et fonctionnelle, qui comprend un grand espace de rangement noir, est dotée d'un élégant carrelage italien et de murs verts accueillants, ces derniers établissant le premier lien avec les autres parties de la maison grâce à leur connexion avec une abondance de plantes et une zone de jardin arrière. Depuis le hall d'entrée, deux portes mènent respectivement aux espaces privés de la maison et aux bureaux d'Imagine, un lieu de travail lumineux aux surfaces blanches et au mobilier contemporain.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

Une étreinte ouverte

Côté privé, l'arrière de la maison a été entièrement repensé. Les espaces de vie articulent un grand espace ouvert, baigné de lumière naturelle et donnant sur le jardin de la maison. Le résultat est une atmosphère chaleureuse et conviviale, avec une disposition spatiale d'un intérieur moderne qui s'aligne sur le style de vie actuel des propriétaires. En entrant dans la maison depuis le hall d'entrée, un couloir visuel s'étend jusqu'à la zone arrière de la salle à manger, centrée autour d'un plafonnier aux formes graphiques joliment arrondies, positionné comme une œuvre d'art flottante. A l'arrière, une grande porte-fenêtre et des fenêtres toute hauteur ouvrent sur le jardin, à l'abri des regards.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

"L'objectif était d'ouvrir au maximum le mur arrière orienté au sud afin de permettre une infusion de lumière naturelle", explique Mélodie Violet. "C'est une chance d'avoir un jardin en ville et, pour cette raison, je voulais ouvrir au maximum le mur extérieur pour profiter de la vue apaisante depuis les espaces de vie intérieurs."

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

La sélection des matériaux, le concept d'éclairage et le choix du mobilier et des accessoires ont été le fruit de recherches approfondies menées par Imagine. Un équilibre de textures nobles et raffinées, avec du marbre, du chêne blanc et de la porcelaine, est mis en valeur par un éclairage discret et stratégiquement intégré. Des luminaires encastrés minimalistes de 2 pouces, par lot de deux, éclairent les grandes ouvertures et mettent en valeur les photographies de voyage du propriétaire. Une variété d'ambiances différentes est créée en fonction de l'intensité et du type d'éclairage utilisé, en complément des murs peints en blanc éclatant qui encadrent les espaces.photo_credit Guillaume GoriniGuillaume Gorini"Afin de donner vie aux murs, j'ai eu l'idée d'un détail de moulure qui ajoute de la profondeur et attire le regard, sans compromettre le design moderne de la maison", explique Mme Violet.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

Adjacent à la salle à manger, le confort décontracté définit l'ambiance du salon et de son mobilier. Les deux espaces se situent un cran au-dessus du niveau de la cuisine, une contrainte architecturale dont Imagine a tiré parti pour marquer la séparation entre l'espace cuisine et l'espace salon. L'îlot, anthracite du côté de la cuisine et noir du côté du salon, sert de lien entre les deux espaces. Un habillage notable de la façade avec des moulures demi-rondes laquées noir mat, offre un beau contraste avec les tabourets en finition laiton. Élément central de la maison, la cuisine, épurée et moderne, se distingue par sa simplicité. Le veinage du marbre de Carrera lie la couleur anthracite de la cuisine à ses murs blancs. Tout a été soigneusement pensé afin d'optimiser l'espace et le rangement, notamment les armoires sur mesure, les appareils intégrés et les poignées encastrées. Au fond, deux portes dissimulent l'accès à un grand garde-manger, où sont rangés le petit électroménager et les produits alimentaires.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

Les étapes clés d'un projet réussi

Comme dans de nombreuses maisons anciennes, l'escalier menait initialement directement de l'entrée au deuxième étage. L'entreprise a décidé de le déplacer vers l'espace ouvert adjacent à la cheminée en briques apparentes d'origine de la maison. Construit en tôle pliée, l'escalier est composé de seulement deux blocs suspendus par de fines barres d'acier. Depuis le rez-de-chaussée, l'ascension commence par deux marches en noyer, stratégiquement éclairées par le placement de trois spots diagonaux encastrés dans le mur.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

"L'escalier devait être sûr, mais nous voulions quelque chose de transparent, léger et aéré", note Mme Violet. "J'ai opté pour un design moderne, comme une sculpture lumineuse qui s'intègre parfaitement à la maison et offre un contraste intéressant, tout en étant transparent."

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

Au niveau supérieur de la maison, Imagine a proposé un aménagement entièrement nouveau. Les espaces originaux du dernier étage étaient dépourvus d'intimité, notamment deux chambres et deux salles de bain. Grâce à la planification réfléchie de Mélodie Violet, le projet fini comprend désormais une suite parentale avec un dressing et une salle de bain côté jardin, ainsi que deux autres chambres et une salle de bain familiale. D'une élégante simplicité, la salle de bains principale est dotée de grands carreaux de marbre qui partent du sol pour délimiter la douche à l'italienne. Ce n'est pas un hasard si le marbre est également présent, sous forme de mosaïque, sur le sol de la salle de bains familiale. Ses carreaux muraux blancs mats sont animés par des jeux d'ombre et de lumière, enveloppant la baignoire autoportante. L'aspect tridimensionnel des carreaux donne vie au décor, tandis que l'infusion de couleur des murs peints en bleu-gris s'harmonise avec le sol en marbre de la salle de bains.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

 

"Notre objectif était de créer une maison chaleureuse, élégante, accueillante et divertissante, où les espaces se connectent grâce à l'utilisation de finitions nobles et authentiques", conclut Mme Violet. "Je pense que nous avons atteint cet objectif en concevant une maison aux lignes modernes et à l'atmosphère douce et apaisante, propice à favoriser les moments précieux."

L'équipe :
Designer : Imagine, agence design de Mélodie Violet
Ingénieur structurel : Geni-Fusion, Guillaume Drapeau

Matériaux utilisés :
1. Cabinet maker: Ebenisterie Charlebois
2. Suppliers: Ciot, Ceragres, RamacieriSoligo, Atelier Gris
3. Lighting: Artemide, Homier Lighting

Read story in EnglishItalianoDeutschPortuguês and Español

Crédits de projet
Architectes
Photographes
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Simply Marvellous

Simply Marvellous

Architect
Imagine
Location
Montreal, QC, Canada | View Map
Project Year
2020
Category
Private Houses
Annie Fafard
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
Lighting Artemide
PIRCE | Pendant lamp
SuppliersRamacieri Soligo
SuppliersCERAGRES
SuppliersAtelier Gris
ManufacturersCiot
Cabinet makerEbenisterie Charlebois

Product Spec Sheet
Lighting
PIRCE | Pendant lamp by Artemide
Suppliers
Suppliers
Suppliers
Manufacturers
by Ciot
Cabinet maker

Simply Marvellous

Imagine as Architects

Recognized for its expertise and creativity in high-quality interior design for major corporate and residential projects, Montreal agency, Imagine, is pleased to unveil Maison Merveilleuse, a completely renovated 1500 sq. ft. townhouse in the Pointe-Saint-Charles sector. Conceptualized by the owner, Mélodie Violet, interior designer and founder of Imagine, the project consists of a complete renovation of this 19th century townhouse, with a new layout and a modern and elegant design signature.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

New beginnings

The project began with a new structural strategy and the strengthening of the original foundations of the townhouse, built in 1875. Imagine then turned its attention towards a completely new layout, adding new rooms and creating an open floorplan on the main level that results in a series of modern living spaces to frame the overall interior design vision. The concept also includes a separation between the private spaces of the house and the professional spaces of the Imagine office, located at the front of the home.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

“It was important to establish distinct boundaries between the office, which must be able to accommodate clients, and the private, more intimate spaces of the home,” explains Mélodie Violet, founder of the firm and owner of the townhouse. “We were able to accomplish that division while maintaining a single main entrance for the house”.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

The spacious and functional entrance, which includes a large, black storage area, features elegant Italian floor tiles and welcoming green walls, with the latter establishing the first link to other parts of the home through its connection to an abundance of plants and a rear garden area. From the entrance hall, two doors lead respectively to the private spaces of the home and to the offices of Imagine, a bright workplace with white surfaces and contemporary furniture.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

An open embrace

On the private side, the rear of the home has been completely redesigned. The living spaces articulate a large open space, bathed in natural light and overlooking the garden of the house. The result is a warm and friendly atmosphere, with a spatial layout of a modern interior that aligns with the current lifestyle of the owners. Upon entering the home from the entrance hall, a visual corridor extends to the rear dining room area, centered around a ceiling light with nicely rounded graphic shapes that is positioned like a floating work of art. To the rear, a large patio door and full-height windows open onto the garden, which is hidden from view.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

“The goal was to open up the south-facing rear wall as much as possible in order to allow for an infusion of natural light,” explains Mélodie Violet. “It’s very fortunate to have a garden in the city and, for that reason, I wanted to open the exterior wall as much as possible to enjoy the soothing view from the interior living spaces.”

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

The selection of materials, the lighting concept, and the choice of furniture and accessories was the result of in-depth research carried out by Imagine. A balance of noble and refined textures, with marble, white oak, and porcelain, is enhanced by discreet and strategically integrated lighting. Minimalist 2-inch recessed lights, in sets of two, illuminate the large openings and highlight the owner's travel photographs. A variety of different ambiances are created according to the intensity and the type of lighting used as a complement to the bright white painted walls that frame the spaces.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

“In order to bring the walls to life, I came up with the idea for a molding detail that adds depth and catches the eye, without jeopardizing the modern design of the home,” says Ms. Violet.

photo_credit Guillaume Gorini
Guillaume Gorini

Adjacent to the dining room, casual comfort defines the ambiance of the living room and its furnishings. The two spaces sit one step higher than the kitchen level, which is an architectural constraint that Imagine leveraged to mark the separation between the cooking area and the living room area. The island, anthracite on the kitchen side and black on the living room side, serves as a link between the two spaces. A notable front covering with matte black lacquered, half-round moldings, provides a nice contrast to the brass-finished stools. A central element to the home, the kitchen, sleek and modern, is distinguished by its simplicity. The veining of Carrera marble links the anthracite colour of the kitchen with its white walls. Everything has been carefully thought out in order to optimize space and storage, including custom cabinetry, integrated appliances, and recessed handles. On the far side, two doors conceal access to a large, walk-in pantry, where small appliances and food products are stored.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

Key steps to a successful project

Like in many older homes, the staircase initially led directly from the entrance area to the second floor. The firm decided to relocate it to the open area adjacent to the home’s original exposed brick chimney. Constructed of folded sheet metal, the staircase is composed of only two blocks suspended by thin steel bars. From the ground level, the ascent begins with two walnut stairs, strategically lit by the placement of three diagonal spotlights embedded in the wall.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

“The staircase had to be safe, but we wanted something transparent, light and airy,” notes Ms. Violet. “I opted for a modern design, like a light sculpture that blends perfectly into the home and offers an interesting contrast, while being transparent.”

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

On the upper level of the house, Imagine proposed a completely new layout. The original spaces of the top floor were devoid of intimacy, including two bedrooms and two bathrooms. As a result of thoughtful planning by Mélodie Violet, the finished project now includes a master suite with a walk-in closet and a bathroom on the garden side, as well as two additional bedrooms and a family bathroom. With elegant simplicity, the master bathroom features large marble tiles that extend from the flooring to define the walk-in shower. It is no coincidence that marble is also featured, in mosaic form, on the floor of the family bathroom. Its matte white wall tiles are animated by light and shadow play, wrapping the free-standing bathtub. The three-dimensional look of the tiles brings the decor to life, while an infusion of colour from blue-grey painted walls soothingly blends with the bathroom’s marble-tiled flooring.

photo_credit Annie Fafard
Annie Fafard

“Our goal was to create a warm, elegant, welcoming, and entertaining home, where spaces connect through the use of noble and authentic finishes,” concludes Ms. Violet. "I think that we have achieved that goal in designing a home with modern lines and a soft and soothing atmosphere conducive to fostering precious moments.”

Caption

Team:
Designer: Imagine, agence design by Mélodie Violet
Structural engineer: Geni-Fusion, Guillaume Drapeau

Material Used:
1. Cabinet maker: Ebenisterie Charlebois
2. Suppliers: Ciot, Ceragres, Ramacieri Soligo, Atelier Gris
3. Lighting: Artemide, Homier Lighting

Read story in ItalianoDeutschPortuguêsEspañol and Français

Project Credits
Architects
Photographers
Photographers
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
Blanchette Architectes revamp an old carpet factory into a vibrant office space
18 Aug 2022 News
Blanchette Architectes revamp an old carpet factory into a vibrant office space

A well-known Montreal-based firm, Blanchette Architectes renovated an old factory building for an in... More

Archstudio revitalizes a rural house in Beijing’s suburbs with recycled wooden construction
17 Aug 2022 News
Archstudio revitalizes a rural house in Beijing’s suburbs with recycled wooden construction

Located in a typical Chinese village on the outskirts of Beijing, ‘Mixed house’ designed... More

Park + Ride by HUB is a paradigm for sustainable mobility
17 Aug 2022 News
Park + Ride by HUB is a paradigm for sustainable mobility

Located in the city of Antwerp in Belgium, Park + Ride designed by HUB is a large-scale public parki... More

Monologue Art Museum by Wutopia Lab offers an oasis free from worldly distractions
17 Aug 2022 News
Monologue Art Museum by Wutopia Lab offers an oasis free from worldly distractions

In Qinhuangdao, China, the Monologue Art Museum by Wutopia Lab opened on the park green of SEATOPIA... More

ERRE Arquitectura transforms a disused space into an oasis of well-being
16 Aug 2022 News
ERRE Arquitectura transforms a disused space into an oasis of well-being

Located in the heart of Valencia in Spain, Clinica Alejandria designed by ERRE Arquitectura is a pla... More

Bellgave residence offers a striking contemporary evolution of California mid-century modernism
16 Aug 2022 News
Bellgave residence offers a striking contemporary evolution of California mid-century modernism

Situated in the Hollywood Hills at the edge of a steep promontory, the private residence Bellgave by... More

Australia’s first purpose-built centre for LGBTQI+ communities in Australia offers a diverse range of community services behind a distinctly tubular façade
15 Aug 2022 News
Australia’s first purpose-built centre for LGBTQI+ communities in Australia offers a diverse range of community services behind a distinctly tubular façade

In Melbourne’s beachside suburb of St Kilda, the Victorian Pride Centre is the first purpose-b... More

Visitor Centre for the Bernau Trade Union School celebrates and reveals a celebrated Bauhaus Monument
15 Aug 2022 News
Visitor Centre for the Bernau Trade Union School celebrates and reveals a celebrated Bauhaus Monument

In 2017 the iconic Bauhaus work ‘Bundesschule Bernau,’ built by Bauhaus director Hannes... More