White Flower Arbor and Open Air Stage
KITAJIMA Toshiharu/ Archi Photo

White Flower Arbor and Open Air Stage, Maezawa Garden

APL design workshop (APLdw) en tant que Architectes.

Tadao Yoshida, le fondateur de YKK, voulait créer un lieu à Kurobe qui pourrait être utilisé à la fois par son personnel et par les habitants de la région. Pour réaliser ses ambitions, il a choisi ce site le long de la rivière Otani. Plus tard, Tadahiro Yoshida a réussi son testament et a continué à développer le jardin de Maezawa.
 
Tout d'abord, l'architecte de renommée mondiale MAKI Fumihiko, lauréat du prix d'architecture de Pritzker, a été chargé de concevoir la maison d'hôtes. Ensuite, le jardin de style anglais, composé principalement de la maison du jardin Maezawa et de la pelouse, a été achevé en 1982. Ensuite, la scène en plein air a été créée à l'extrémité sud par l'architecte OHNO Hidetoshi en 1989. Ses sièges semi-circulaires en gradins sont posés avec des traverses de chemin de fer en bois. En face d'un monticule circulaire se trouve une pelouse en pente douce. Le monticule et la pelouse peuvent être utilisés comme scène, ce qui permet trois configurations différentes. Pendant les Jeux olympiques de théâtre, la pelouse en pente a été utilisée comme scène, ce qui a donné lieu à un spectacle unique qui a utilisé la profondeur de la scène.
 
Ce théâtre a été choisi pour accueillir un festival international de théâtre appelé ""Theater Olympics 2019"", qui s'est tenu à Toga et Kurobe au Japon ainsi qu'à Saint-Pétersbourg en Russie. L'atelier de conception APL a été désigné comme le bureau d'architecture chargé de faciliter cet événement international.
 
White Flower Arbor fonctionne comme un foyer pour le théâtre, dont le toit est soutenu par 17 arbres vivants (chênes et cèdres) et des piliers en acier* . Louis Khan a dit un jour que ""les écoles ont probablement commencé avec un homme sous un arbre, et autour de lui les auditeurs des mots de son esprit"". Un arbre peut créer un lieu de rencontre n'importe où dans le monde. La nature sauvage d'un arbre peut également conférer à un lieu un esprit. Ceux qui passent un certain temps dans l'Arbre à fleurs blanches feront ainsi l'expérience du véritable sens de la ""cohabitation avec la nature"" tel qu'il a été transmis depuis les temps anciens et leurs expressions s'adouciront.
 
Comme ce belvédère se trouve au pied d'une pente couverte par une forêt - presque comme un sanctuaire shinto japonais - son entité qui s'enfonce dans la forêt ressemble à une partie de la nature de l'extérieur, tandis qu'à l'intérieur, son air froid et son obscurité amènent les personnes qui se trouvent dans le belvédère dans un monde de mythe
 
* Pour être précis, en termes d'ingénierie structurelle, cette structure est planifiée selon une formule dans laquelle la charge verticale du toit est supportée par 25 piliers qui comprennent les 16 arbres vivants et 9 tuyaux en acier, et la charge sismique latérale n'est résistante que par les piliers en acier. Le diamètre des troncs d'arbres (8 cm) n'est pas suffisant pour supporter l'épaisseur maximale de neige dans ce district (150 cm). Au début de ce projet, le belvédère devait être utilisé uniquement pour cet événement cette année, mais en raison du désir de continuer à utiliser cet espace, il retirera la moitié du toit avant qu'il ne neige.

Read story in EnglishDeutschItaliano and Português

Crédits de projet
Structural engineering
Mechanical and Electrical engineer
Fiche technique du produit

Products Behind Projects
Product Spotlight
News
25 best outdoor furniture manufacturers
18 juin 2024 Spécifications
25 best outdoor furniture manufacturers

Les meubles d'extérieur, conçus pour les patios, les terrasses, les balcons, les jardi... En savoir plus

31/44 Architects designs London house filled with architectural character
18 juin 2024 Nouvelles
31/44 Architects designs London house filled with architectural character

31/44 Architects a conçu "Six Columns" comme une maison pour le cofondateur du studio, Will B... En savoir plus

Benthem Crouwel Architects transforms Amsterdam office tower with an innovative wooden extension
14 juin 2024 Nouvelles
Benthem Crouwel Architects transforme la tour de bureaux d'Amsterdam avec une extension en bois innovante

District West à Sloterdijk, Amsterdam, fait actuellement l'objet d'un réaménage... En savoir plus

Brewhouse Apartments: A testament to adaptive reuse comes to Warsaw
14 juin 2024 Nouvelles
Brewhouse Apartments : Un témoignage de réutilisation adaptative à Varsovie

Au cœur de Varsovie, où l'histoire se mêle à la vie urbaine contemporaine,... En savoir plus

25 best architecture firms in Iran
13 juin 2024 Nouvelles
25 meilleurs cabinets d'architecture en Iran

L'Iran est un pays aride et accidenté du sud-ouest de l'Asie, qui abrite une culture riche et... En savoir plus

Pelli Clarke & Partners completes Salesforce Tower Chicago as part of riverfront master plan
12 juin 2024 Nouvelles
Pelli Clarke & Partners completes Salesforce Tower Chicago as part of riverfront master plan

Pelli Clarke & ; Partners a achevé la Salesforce Tower Chicago, une tour de bureaux certi... En savoir plus

White Flower Arbor and Open Air Stage
KITAJIMA Toshiharu/ Archi Photo

White Flower Arbor and Open Air Stage, Maezawa Garden

APL design workshop (APLdw) as Architects

Tadao Yoshida, the founder of YKK, wanted to create a place in Kurobe that could be used both by his staff as well as those living in the area. To realize his ambitions, he chose this site along the Otani River. Later, Tadahiro Yoshida succeeded his will and continued to develop Maezawa Garden.

 

First, the world-renowned architect MAKI Fumihiko, a Pritzker Architecture Prize laureate, was commissioned to design the guest house. Then, the English-style garden, comprised mainly of the Maezawa Garden House and lawn, was completed in 1982. Afterwards, the Open Air Stage was created on the south end by architect OHNO Hidetoshi in 1989. Its semicircular, stepped seating is laid with timber railroad ties. Facing it across from a circular mound is a gently sloping lawn. Both mound and lawn can be used as the stage, allowing for three different stage configurations. During the Theater Olympics, the sloping lawn was used as the stage, leading to a unique performance that made use of the singular stage depth.

 

This theater was selected as a venue for an international drama festival called the “Theater Olympics 2019,” which was held in Toga and Kurobe in Japan as well as Saint Petersburg in Russia. APL design workshop was appointed as the architectural office facilitating this international event.

 

White Flower Arbor functions as a foyer for the theater, whose roof is supported by 17 living trees (oaks and cedars) and steel pillars* . Louis Khan once said that “schools probably began with a man under a tree, and around him the listeners to the words of his mind.” A tree can create a place for meeting anywhere in the world. The wildness of a tree may also endow a place with spirit. Those who spend some time in White Flower Arbor will thus experience the true sense of “living together with nature” as passed down from ancient times and their expressions will soften.

 

As this gazebo sits on the foot of a slope covered by a forest – almost like a Japanese Shinto shrine – its entity sinking into the forest looks like a part of nature from the outside, while on the inside, its chilly air and darkness bring people in the gazebo to a world of myth

 

* To be precise, in terms of structural engineering, this structure is planned on a formula in which the vertical load on the roof is supported by 25 pillars that include the 16 living trees and 9 steel pipes, and the lateral earthquake load is resisted only by the steel pillars. The diameter of the tree trunks (8cm) is not enough to support the maximum snow depth in this district (150cm). At the beginning of this project, the gazebo was to be used only for this event this year, but due to the desire to continue using this space, it will remove the half of the roof before it snows.

Read story in DeutschItalianoPortuguês and Français

Project Credits
Structural engineering
Mechanical and Electrical engineer
Product Spec Sheet

Project Spotlight
Product Spotlight
News
Sanjay Puri, Dominique Petit-Frere, Emre Arolat and Yenny Zhang join Archello Awards 2024 jury
23 May 2024 Archello Awards
Sanjay Puri, Dominique Petit-Frere, Emre Arolat and Yenny Zhang join Archello Awards 2024 jury

Sanjay Puri, Dominique Petit-Frere, Emre Arolat and Yenny Zhang have been announced as Archello Awar... More

Storefront in Amsterdam by Dok architecten features sculpted facade of hand-molded bricks
23 May 2024 News
Storefront in Amsterdam by Dok architecten features sculpted facade of hand-molded bricks

The Italian fashion brand Dolce & Gabbana has opened a store in Amsterdam's P.C. Hooftstraat ret... More

Prokš Přikryl Architekti converts historic grain silo into multifunctional conference and art space
22 May 2024 News
Prokš Přikryl Architekti converts historic grain silo into multifunctional conference and art space

Prague-based Prokš Přikryl Architekti has converted the grain silo of a historic mill buildin... More

Surman Weston veils self-build Peckham House in hit-and-miss brickwork
21 May 2024 News
Surman Weston veils self-build Peckham House in hit-and-miss brickwork

London-based architectural studio Surman Weston has completed its first self-build project in the vi... More

Key projects by Woods Bagot
21 May 2024 News
Key projects by Woods Bagot

Woods Bagot is a global architecture firm known for its diverse portfolio of forward-thinking and su... More

Filippo Taidelli Architetto designs transparent “knowledge hangar” near Milan
20 May 2024 News
Filippo Taidelli Architetto designs transparent “knowledge hangar” near Milan

Milan-based Filippo Taidelli Architetto designed the Roberto Rocca Innovation Building as part of th... More

Klaksvik Rowing Clubhouse by Henning Larsen celebrates Faroese sporting and cultural heritage
20 May 2024 News
Klaksvik Rowing Clubhouse by Henning Larsen celebrates Faroese sporting and cultural heritage

Danish architectural firm Henning Larsen features in Archello’s 25 best architecture firms in... More

WOODlife’s floors and finishes add warmth and texture to Oslo House
17 May 2024 News
WOODlife’s floors and finishes add warmth and texture to Oslo House

Dutch flooring brand WOODlife was included in Archello’s list of 25 best engineered wood floor... More