L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped by Christo

L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped by Christo

Lieu
Paris, France | View Map
Année du projet
2021
Catégorie
Expositions
Yohan Zerdoun

L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped

Yohan Zerdoun Architectural Photography en tant que Photographes.

L'Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped est visible durant 16 jours, du samedi 18 septembre au dimanche 3 octobre 2021. Le projet est réalisé en partenariat avec le Centre des monuments nationaux (CMN) et en coordination avec la Ville de Paris. Il reçoit aussi le soutien du Centre Pompidou. L'Arc de Triomphe est empaqueté dans 25 000 mètres carrés de tissu recyclable en polypropylène argent bleuté et avec 3 000 mètres de corde recyclable en polypropylène rouge.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


En 1961, trois ans après s'être rencontrés à Paris, Christo et Jeanne-Claude commencent à concevoir des œuvres temporaires dans l'espace public. L'un de leurs projets était d'empaqueter un édifice public. À son arrivée à Paris, Christo loue une chambre de bonne à proximité de l'Arc de triomphe et le monument ne cessera de l'attirer depuis. En 1962, il réalise un photomontage de l'Arc de triomphe empaqueté vu depuis l'avenue Foch et en 1988, un collage. 60 ans plus tard, le projet est finalement concrétisé.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun

Le projet est entièrement autofinancé par l'Estate de Christo V. Javacheff grâce à la vente d'œuvres originales de Christo : collages et dessins préparatoires, maquettes, œuvres des années cinquante-soixante et lithographies. Il ne bénéficie d’aucun autre financement public ou privé.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


Le Centre des monuments nationaux, qui assure au nom de l'État la conservation et l'ouverture au public de l'Arc de triomphe, se félicite de la réalisation d'un projet qui témoigne de son engagement en faveur de la création contemporaine et de la mise en valeur de l'un des monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris et de France.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


La Flamme de la Nation devant la tombe du Soldat Inconnu, sous l'Arc de triomphe, a continue à brûler pendant le montage et le démontage, ainsi que durant toute la période où l'œuvre est visible. Associations, bénévoles et volontaires attachés aux valeurs de la République continuent à s'y relayer pour assurer la continuité du souvenir et de la mémoire. Les cérémonies quotidiennes du ravivage de la Flamme ainsi que les hommages au Soldat Inconnu ont lieu dans la solennité requise.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


Christo et Jeanne-Claude ont toujours souhaité que leurs œuvres en cours soient achevées dans le cas de leur disparition. Selon le vœu de Christo, L'Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped est réalisé par son équipe.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun

Read story in English

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped by Christo

L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped by Christo

Location
Paris, France | View Map
Project Year
2021
Category
Exhibitions
Yohan Zerdoun

L' Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped

Yohan Zerdoun Architectural Photography as Photographers

Text : Christo & Jeanne-Claude website
L'Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped, a temporary artwork for Paris, is on view for 16 days from Saturday, September 18 to Sunday, October 3, 2021. The project has been realized in partnership with the Centre des Monuments Nationaux and in coordination with the City of Paris. It also receives the support of the Centre Pompidou. The Arc de Triomphe is wrapped in 25,000 square meters of recyclable polypropylene fabric in silvery blue, and with 3,000 meters of red rope.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun

In 1961, three years after they met in Paris, Christo and Jeanne-Claude began creating works of art in public spaces. One of their projects was to wrap a public building. When he arrived in Paris, Christo rented a small room near the Arc de Triomphe and had been attracted by the monument ever since. In 1962, he made a photomontage of the Arc de Triomphe wrapped, seen from the Avenue Foch and, in 1988, a collage. 60 years later, the project will finally be concretized.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


L'Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped is entirely funded by the Estate of Christo V. Javacheff, through the sale of Christo's preparatory studies, drawings, and collages of the project as well as scale models, works from the 1950s and 1960s, and original lithographs on other subjects. It receives no public funds.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


The Centre des Monuments Nationaux, the government institution that manages the Arc de Triomphe, is pleased about the realization of a project that demonstrates its commitment to contemporary creation and that honors one of the most emblematic monuments in Paris and in France.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


The Eternal Flame, in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at the Arc de Triomphe, continued to burn throughout the installation, and it will continue to burn throughout display and dismantling of the artwork. As always, veterans' associations and volunteers committed to the values of the French Republic will ensure the continuity of remembrance and the daily ceremony of rekindling the flame that pays homage to the Unknown Soldier and those who lost their lives fighting for France.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun


Christo and Jeanne-Claude have always made clear that their artworks in progress be continued after their deaths. Per Christo's wishes, L'Arc de Triomphe, Wrapped has been realized by his team.

photo_credit Yohan Zerdoun
Yohan Zerdoun
This story is available in multiple languages
Hockey Changing Rooms - JOCKEY CLUB DE ROSARIO
next project

Hockey Changing Rooms - JOCKEY CLUB DE ROSARIO

Sports Centres
Fisherton, Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina - Build completed in 2021
View Project