Assembly Norfolk

Assemblée Norfolk

Nom du projet en anglais
Assembly Norfolk
Architecte
Work Program Architects

Campfire & Co.
Lieu
400 Granby St, Norfolk, VA 23510, USA | View Map
Année du projet
2021
Catégorie
Bureaux
Yuzhu Zheng
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
FabricantsVestaboard
FabricantsIKEA
FabricantsAllermuir
FabricantsArticle
FabricantsAutonomous Furniture Collective
FabricantsBlue Dot Design

Fiche technique du produit
Fabricants
Fabricants
by IKEA
Fabricants
Fabricants
by Article
Fabricants

Assemblée Norfolk

Work Program Architects en tant que Architect.

Une brève histoire de l'Assemblée

Le 400 Granby Street a été construit à l'origine en 1910 comme salle d'exposition et nommé le Fergus Reid Building. Il s'agit d'un bâtiment néo-classique de quatre étages, conçu par l'architecte de Norfolk Benjamin F. Mitchell. Le bâtiment est enregistré comme une structure contribuant au district historique du centre-ville de Norfolk.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Le hall d'exposition a été de courte durée, et le bâtiment Fergus Reid est rapidement devenu le siège de certains des grands magasins les plus populaires du XXe siècle à Norfolk. En 1919, les journaux locaux ont vanté la transformation du Reid Building en grand magasin Ames & Brownley. Le Virginian-Pilot a noté "les piliers massifs en marbre du bâtiment, la belle entrée avec le grand marquis et les fenêtres joliment décorées", ainsi que les accessoires en noyer américain utilisés dans tout le bâtiment de plus de 44 000 pieds carrés.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

De 1939 à 1985 environ, le Reid Building a abrité le grand magasin Rice. Lors de son ouverture en 1939, le nouveau grand magasin a déplacé l'entrée du centre de la façade de la rue Granby vers un vestibule d'angle à l'intersection de Granby et Freemason. Le magasin a également retiré la corniche décorative du haut du bâtiment. Ces changements ont probablement été effectués pour donner au bâtiment l'apparence d'un style plus contemporain, moderne et Art déco, qui est devenu populaire dans les années 1930 et 1940, tout comme l'ajout voisin de Sears Roebuck & Co. construit vers 1939.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

En 1955, le Rice's Department Store étend ses activités, en acquérant les deux bâtiments adjacents le long de la rue Freemason, qui abritaient auparavant Sears Roebuck & Co. au centre-ville. Le nouveau magasin de 100 000 pieds carrés s'étendait sur tout le pâté de maisons, de Granby à Monticello. Lors de l'agrandissement du magasin, les propriétaires de Rice ont réaménagé les bâtiments commerciaux et commerciaux datant de ca. 1922 et ca.1939 commerciaux et Sears Art Déco avec une façade de style international qui enveloppait un mur de verre le long de la rue Freemason. Bien qu'aucune photographie n'ait encore été découverte montrant le design fini, The Virginian-Pilot a décrit les changements apportés au bâtiment en novembre 1955 en déclarant : "Ce nouveau bâtiment inondé de lumière, de conception fonctionnelle, représentant un investissement d'environ 1 500 000 $, est une prophétie structurelle qui porte de manière importante sur l'avenir de la section mercantile du centre-ville.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Il apporte l'élan du changement à la plus ancienne section commerciale de la ville. "Rice's a de nouveau modifié la façade du bâtiment vers 1971-1972, en enveloppant l'extérieur d'une housse du milieu du siècle, typique des bâtiments commerciaux de cette période. L'enveloppe couvrait le bâtiment de Granby Street à Monticello, unifiant l'apparence extérieure.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Au début des années 1990, la ville de Norfolk a acheté le Reid Building après que Rice's ait fermé ses portes en 1985. La ville a lancé un projet de restauration et de rénovation du bâtiment de plusieurs millions de dollars. Le projet a permis de retirer le revêtement de la façade des années 1970, révélant les briques de verre d'origine et 11 colonnes de granit. Les équipes ont également découvert des sols en terrazzo et des panneaux de bois d'origine dans tout le bâtiment.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Ces découvertes ont incité l'Assemblée à entreprendre une restauration complète du bâtiment Reid pour lui redonner l'apparence qu'il avait dans les années 1920 chez Ames & Brownley.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Conception pour l'économie 
Des espaces flexibles et partagés permettent au programme de répondre à de nombreux besoins au même endroit.
L'un des principaux objectifs de la conception était de fournir un accès à des commodités de classe mondiale pour soutenir une communauté croissante d'innovateurs. Les 15 000 SF de ressources partagées du bâtiment comprennent un studio d'enregistrement, une bibliothèque, une terrasse sur le toit, un espace polyvalent pour les événements et une cuisine. De plus, ces espaces créent des opportunités de collaboration et de connexion entre les entreprises.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

La création d'espaces flexibles permet également au programme de répondre à de nombreux besoins au même endroit. Un exemple est le cinquième étage, un espace événementiel polyvalent, qui est relié à un mur mobile qui déborde sur une terrasse sur le toit. Ces espaces peuvent être utilisés par les locataires pour des réunions de tout le personnel, des happy hours à l'échelle du bâtiment, des événements de conférenciers ou pour le travail quotidien. Le hall du premier étage permet de travailler au quotidien, d'organiser des réunions publiques, des conversations impromptues, ou même de servir de toile de fond pour des vidéos et des photographies.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Conception pour des communautés équitables 
L'Assemblée est "conçue pour se connecter" à tous les égards - en encourageant l'interaction entre les locataires et en restant connecté au contexte urbain et à la communauté.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng
photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Le hall et le premier étage sont des espaces publics ouverts avec des fenêtres du sol au plafond et des vues étendues du trottoir au premier étage. Une variété de styles, de hauteurs et de dispositions de sièges invite les visiteurs à trouver leur propre coin, tout en restant connectés à l'espace. Des œuvres d'art acoustiques personnalisées assurent l'absorption du son et attirent le regard vers l'atrium central.

L'escalier ouvert de cinq étages est relié visuellement et physiquement à l'ensemble du bâtiment, créant des lieux de collisions spontanées et d'échanges d'idées. Un café au sein de l'Assemblée accueillera les visiteurs et connectera davantage le bâtiment à son environnement urbain adjacent.

photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects
photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects
photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects

Read story in EnglishItalianoPortuguêsEspañol and Deutsch

Crédits de projet
Produits utilisés dans le cadre de ce projet
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Assembly Norfolk

Assembly Norfolk

Architect
Work Program Architects

Campfire & Co.
Location
400 Granby St, Norfolk, VA 23510, USA | View Map
Project Year
2021
Category
Offices
Yuzhu Zheng
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
ManufacturersVestaboard
ManufacturersIKEA
ManufacturersAllermuir
ManufacturersArticle
ManufacturersAutonomous Furniture Collective
ManufacturersBlue Dot Design

Product Spec Sheet
Manufacturers
Manufacturers
by IKEA
Manufacturers
Manufacturers
by Article
Manufacturers

Assembly Norfolk

Work Program Architects as Architect

A Brief History of Assembly

400 Granby Street was originally constructed in 1910 as an exposition hall and named the Fergus Reid Building. It is a four-story Classical Revival building, designed by Norfolk architect Benjamin F. Mitchell. The building is registered as a contributing structure to the Downtown Norfolk Historic District.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

The exposition hall was short-lived, and the Fergus Reid building quickly became home to some of Norfolk’s most popular twentieth century department stores. In 1919, local newspapers boasted of the Reid Building’s transformation into the Ames & Brownley Department Store. The Virginian-Pilot noted the building’s “massive marble pillars, the handsome entrance with the large marquis and tastily trimmed windows,” as well as the American walnut fixtures used throughout the more than 44,000 square foot building.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

From ca. 1939 until 1985, the Reid Building was home to Rice’s Department Store. Upon its opening in 1939, the new department store moved the entrance from the center of the Granby Street elevation to a corner vestibule at the intersection of Granby and Freemason. The store also removed the decorative cornice from the top of the building. These changes were likely made to give the building the appearance of a more contemporary streamlined-Moderne and Art Deco style that became popular during the 1930s and 1940s, much like the neighboring Sears Roebuck & Co. addition constructed ca. 1939.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

In 1955, Rice’s Department Store expanded its operations, acquiring the two adjacent buildings along Freemason Street, which formerly operated as the downtown home of Sears Roebuck & Co. The new 100,000 square foot store spanned the entire block from Granby to Monticello. Upon the store’s expansion, Rice’s owners redesigned the ca. 1922 and ca.1939 commercial and Art Deco Sears buildings with an International-Style façade that wrapped a wall of glass along Freemason Street. While a photograph has not yet been uncovered showing the finished design, The Virginian-Pilot described the changes to the building in November 1955 stating: “This new light-flooded building of functional design, representing an investment of some $1,500,000 is a structural prophesy that bears importantly upon the future of the downtown mercantile section.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

It brings the fillip of change to the oldest commercial section of the city.”Rice’s again altered the façade of the building ca. 1971-1972, wrapping the exterior with a mid-century slipcover typical of commercial buildings during this period. The wrap covered the building from Granby Street to Monticello, unifying the exterior appearance.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

In the early 1990s, the City of Norfolk purchased the Reid Building after Rice’s closed its doors in 1985. The City launched a multi-million-dollar restoration and renovation of the building. The project resulted in the removal of the 1970s façade cover, revealing original glass bricks and 11 granite columns. Crews also uncovered original terrazzo floors and wood paneling throughout the building.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

These findings prompted Assembly to undertake a full restoration of the Reid Building to its 1920s Ames & Brownley appearance.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Design for Economy 

Flexible and shared spaces allow the program to meet many needs in the same place.

A main design goal was to provide access to world-class amenities to support a growing community of innovators. The 15,000 SF of shared building resources include a recording studio, library, rooftop terrace, multi-purpose event space and kitchen, Additionally, these spaces create opportunities for collaboration and connection across companies.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Creating flexible spaces also allows for the program to meet many needs in the same place. An example is the fifth floor, a multi-purpose event space, which is connected to a movable wall that spills out onto a rooftop terrace. These spaces can be used by tenants for all-hands meetings, building-wide happy hours, speaker events, or everyday working. The first-floor lobby allows for day-to-day work, public meetings, impromptu conversations, or even a backdrop for video and photography.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

Design for Equitable Communities 

Assembly is ‘designed to connect’ in every way — from encouraging interaction among tenants as well as staying connected to the urban context and community.

The lobby and first floor are open public spaces with floor-to-ceiling windows and expansive views from the sidewalk into the first floor. A variety of seating styles, heights, and arrangements invite visitors to find their own nook, while staying connected to the space. Custom acoustic artwork provides sound absorption and draw the eye to the central atrium.

photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng
photo_credit Yuzhu Zheng
Yuzhu Zheng

The five-story open stair is connected visually and physically to the entire building, creating places for spontaneous collisions and exchange of ideas. A coffee shop within Assembly will welcome visitors and further connect the building to its adjacent urban environment.

photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects
photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects
photo_credit Work Program Architects
Work Program Architects

Read story in ItalianoPortuguêsFrançaisEspañol and Deutsch

Project Credits
Products used in this project
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
AT Design stacks  striking white volumes to create this hotel in Lishui City, China
8 Feb 2023 News
AT Design stacks striking white volumes to create this hotel in Lishui City, China

Set atop a mountain in Suichang County in Lishui City, China, the Miwo Hotel, designed by AT Design,... More

10 Residential Kitchen Countertops
8 Feb 2023 Specification
10 Residential Kitchen Countertops

Countertops are durable work surfaces that work in tandem with cabinetry and appliances to complete... More

Quaint bamboo screens dictate the elevation of this private house by Vazio S/A in Brazil
8 Feb 2023 News
Quaint bamboo screens dictate the elevation of this private house by Vazio S/A in Brazil

Nestled in the rural area of Serra da Moeda, a natural heritage of Minas Gerais, Marinho de Serra (M... More

Nendo designs the walls of the new office of Creature Inc with an array of Pokemon steel cards
7 Feb 2023 News
Nendo designs the walls of the new office of Creature Inc with an array of Pokemon steel cards

Tokyo and Milan-based design firm, Nendo unveils the new office for Creatures Inc, one of the three... More

Office of Political Innovation takes a playful and irreverent design approach to design for children
7 Feb 2023 News
Office of Political Innovation takes a playful and irreverent design approach to design for children

On the outskirts of Madrid in Encinar de los Reyes, Reggio School by the Office of Political Innovat... More

10 carpets featured in commercial projects
7 Feb 2023 Specification
10 carpets featured in commercial projects

Carpets for offices are always a smart choice for commercial flooring because of their enticing desi... More

Preview of OMA's first tower to be completed in Tokyo
6 Feb 2023 News
Preview of OMA's first tower to be completed in Tokyo

Set to open in the Fall of 2023, Toranomon Hills Station Tower marks OMA's first built tower in Toky... More

Fietsklim Foundation and ZUS unveil design for artificial climb
6 Feb 2023 News
Fietsklim Foundation and ZUS unveil design for artificial climb

Foundation Fietsklim presents the design of the Fietsklim, a construction designed to make climbing... More