LVL/

LVL/

Architekt
PLY Architecture
Standort
Adelaide SA, Australia | View Map
Projektjahr
2019
Kategorie
Privathäuser
Sam Noonan
Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt

ElementMarkeProduct Name
HerstellerCaesarstone
HerstellerClipsal
Saturn Zen
Matt BlackDulux Australia
Weathershield
Spinel Oxide with custom aggregateHanson
ImageCrete
Sliding stacker doorsSCHÜCO
Matrix Cladding PanelJames Hardie

Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt
Hersteller
Saturn Zen nach Clipsal
Matt Black
Weathershield nach Dulux Australia
Spinel Oxide with custom aggregate
ImageCrete nach Hanson
Sliding stacker doors
nach SCHÜCO
Matrix Cladding Panel

LVL/

PLY Architecture als Architekten

Der LVL-Umbau ist ein moderner Pavillon-Anbau, der einen markanten zeitgenössischen Einschub in ein bestehendes Charakterhaus darstellt. Wenn man die Haustür öffnet, wird man emotional durch den Raum zur Rückseite gezogen, wo sich ein großes offenes Wohnvolumen linear in Ost-West-Richtung ausdehnt. Das Gleichgewicht wird durch einen weitläufigen Pool hergestellt, der an der Fassade plätschert und weiches natürliches Licht in die Innenräume filtert.

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bauherrn wurde die Aufgabe gestellt, die Verfeinerung und Komposition der vorgefundenen Proportionen des Erbes zu erforschen, zu entpacken und zu abstrahieren, zu verlängern und in einen modernistischen Pavillonraum zu formalisieren. Obwohl er formal vom bestehenden Wohnhaus getrennt ist, ist er durch den zentralen Flur physisch und materiell miteinander verbunden, wodurch die Attribute der einzelnen Räume verschwimmen.

 

Ein detaillierter Ausdruck von freiliegendem Stahl umhüllt den Umfang des Pavillons und stellt eine subtile Verbindung zum Boden her, während große Glasöffnungen das Volumen umschließen. Die Verbindung zur Landschaft und zum Himmel ist umgekehrt kuratiert, so dass kontrolliertes natürliches Licht tief in die Innenräume eindringen kann, während Momente die Gelegenheit bieten, auf die Bodenebene zu blicken. Ein intensives Spiel von linearen Geometrien wird durch den Einsatz von Materialität inszeniert. Ein Boden aus tiefem Oxidbeton balanciert gegen die große Fläche aus rhythmischem Blockwerk mit kalkulierten Verlaufsdetails, die einen visuellen Bezugspunkt durch den Raum bilden. Ergänzt wird dies durch eine taktile Lattendecke, die die Linearität des Raumes unterstreicht und Reliefs und Schatten auf einer normalerweise großen Fläche erzeugt.

 

Das monochromatische Interieur nimmt Bezug auf die äußeren Formen, verkleinert sie und erforscht die Grundlagen von Punkt, Linie und Fläche.

 

Verwendete Materialien:

  1. Hanson Concrete - ImageCrete - Spinel Oxide mit kundenspezifischen Zuschlagstoffen
  2. Schueco - Stapler-Schiebetüren
  3. Austral Masonry - GB Honed Porcelain
  4. James Hardie - Matrix Verkleidungsplatte
  5. Dulux - Weathershield - Mattschwarz
  6. Caeserstone - Cloudburst-Beton
  7. Gaggenau - Geräte
  8. Bora - Kochfeld mit Absaugung
  9. Clipsal - Saturn Zen

Read story in EnglishEspañolFrançaisPortuguês and Italiano

Projekt-Kredite
In diesem Projekt verwendete Produkte
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Specifier · Let manufacturers think along with the materialization of your project
LVL/

LVL/

Architect
PLY Architecture
Location
Adelaide SA, Australia | View Map
Project Year
2019
Category
Private Houses
Sam Noonan
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
ManufacturersCaesarstone
ManufacturersClipsal
Saturn Zen
Matt BlackDulux Australia
Weathershield
Spinel Oxide with custom aggregateHanson
ImageCrete
Sliding stacker doorsSCHÜCO
Matrix Cladding PanelJames Hardie

Product Spec Sheet
Manufacturers
Saturn Zen by Clipsal
Matt Black
Weathershield by Dulux Australia
Spinel Oxide with custom aggregate
ImageCrete by Hanson
Sliding stacker doors
by SCHÜCO
Matrix Cladding Panel

LVL/

PLY Architecture as Architects

The LVL alteration is a modern pavilion addition providing a striking contemporary insertion into an existing character home. At the point of opening the front door you are emotively pulled through the space to the rear where a large open plan living volume expands linear in an east-west direction. Balanced by an expansive pool lapping at the façade filtering soft natural light into the internals.

 

Designed in collaboration with our client, the brief was to explore the refinement and composition of the pre established heritage proportions, unpack and abstract, elongated and formalised into a modernist pavilion space. Although it formally disconnects from the existing dwelling, it is spliced and bonded through the central hallway physically and materially, blurring the attributes of each space.

 

A detailed expression of exposed steel wraps the pavilion's perimeter and subtly connects to ground, whist large glazing apertures enclose the volume. Connection to the landscape and sky is curated inversely allowing controlled natural light to penetrate deep into the internals while moments present opportunity to glance at the ground plane. An intense play of linear geometries is orchestrated through use of materiality. A deep oxide concrete floor balances against the large expanse of rhythmic block work with calculated coursing detail, informing a visual datum through the space. Complimented by a tactile batten ceiling emphasising the linearity of the space, creating relief and shadow on what is typically a vast plane.

 

The monochromatic interior references the external forms, scaling them down and exploring the fundamentals of point, line and plane.

 

Materials Used:

  1. Hanson Concrete - ImageCrete - Spinel Oxide with custom aggregate
  2. Schueco - Sliding stacker doors
  3. Austral Masonry - GB Honed Porcelain
  4. James Hardie - Matrix Cladding Panel
  5. Dulux - Weathershield - Matt Black
  6. Caeserstone - Cloudburst Concrete
  7. Gaggenau - appliances
  8. Bora - Cooktop with extraction
  9. Clipsal - Saturn Zen
This story is available in multiple languages
Share or Add LVL/ to your Collections
Project Credits
Products used in this project
Residence DD
next project

Residence DD

Private Houses
Adinkerke, Belgium - Build completed in 2019
View Project