Mill Hill House

Architecte
RISE Design Studio
Lieu
Mill Hill, London, UK | View Map
Année du projet
2019
Catégorie
Maisons privées
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
LightingKreon
Polished ConcreteMidland Flooring
Fixed atrium rooflightRoof Maker
Glazing, doors and windowsSteel Window Service
Opening rooflightTHE ROOFLIGHT COMPANY

Fiche technique du produit
Lighting
by Kreon
Polished Concrete
Fixed atrium rooflight
Glazing, doors and windows
Opening rooflight

Maison de Mill Hill

RISE Design Studio en tant que Kitchen.

Inspirée de la conception traditionnelle des façades géorgiennes à l'avant et présentant des cubes en quinconce minimalistes à l'arrière, cette maison unifamiliale est un agglomérat de volumes à deux faces. Ceux-ci créent un plan nuancé à l'arrière de la maison et se rejoignent à l'avant pour s'unir dans une forme globale très contextuelle.

 

L'un des principaux moteurs de ce projet était de pouvoir créer une maison qui bénéficie de la meilleure disposition des espaces et de la meilleure lumière possible sans compromettre l'esthétique des maisons voisines plus traditionnelles. Le résultat final est une progression d'espaces qui fusionnent et se heurtent pour créer une masse à la fois agrégée et nuancée.

 

Le choix des matériaux va de pair avec les décisions de conception. Les briques néerlandaises font référence au contexte bâti, tandis que leurs teintes violettes frittées offrent un contraste marqué avec la verdure environnante. Juxtaposant la maçonnerie, de grandes surfaces vitrées placent le projet dans un dialogue plus contemporain avec son site par le biais de la façade arrière.

 

En ce qui concerne l'intérieur, le projet s'appuie sur l'artisanat local pour créer des espaces qui fonctionnent en harmonie les uns avec les autres, avec des transitions fluides qui permettent l'existence d'environnements distincts au sein de plus grands espaces ininterrompus. Au cœur même de la maison, un atrium de dix mètres de haut apporte lumière et unité dans la circulation de la maison, offrant une transition spectaculaire entre les jardins avant et arrière.

 

Utilisant plusieurs principes de Passivhaus, la maison est dotée d'un système de ventilation mécanique à récupération de chaleur, d'une étanchéité à l'air, de vitrages à haute performance, de toits verts et de panneaux solaires dans un effort pour minimiser son impact environnemental et sa consommation d'énergie. Comme les autres services de la maison, ces systèmes sont finalement intégrés à la conception afin de s'intégrer parfaitement à l'ensemble du bâtiment.

 

Matériauxutilisés :

  1. Polished Concrete: Midland Flooring
  2. Glazing, doors, and windows: Steel Window Service & Suppliers Limited Glazing,
  3. Fixed atrium rooflight: Roofmaker Pro Glazing
  4. Opening rooflight: The Rooflight Company
  5. Timber floor, stair threads and risers: Finewood Flooring Limited
  6. Zinc roof specialist: RAC Roofing & Cladding Specialist
Cette histoire est disponible en plusieurs langues
Partagez ou ajoutez Mill Hill House à vos collections
Crédits de projet
Structural Engineer
Architectes paysagistes
Sustainability Consultant
Can Canyís
prochain projet

Can Canyís

Maisons privées
Capdepera, Mallorca, Spain - Construction terminée in 2019
Voir le projet

Mill Hill House

Architect
RISE Design Studio
Location
Mill Hill, London, UK | View Map
Project Year
2019
Category
Private Houses
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
LightingKreon
Polished ConcreteMidland Flooring
Fixed atrium rooflightRoof Maker
Glazing, doors and windowsSteel Window Service
Opening rooflightTHE ROOFLIGHT COMPANY

Product Spec Sheet
Lighting
by Kreon
Polished Concrete
Fixed atrium rooflight
Glazing, doors and windows
Opening rooflight

Mill Hill House

RISE Design Studio as Kitchen

Inspired by traditional Georgian facade design at the front and featuring minimalist staggered cubes at the rear, this single-family home is a two-faced agglomerate of volumes. These create a nuanced floor plan in the back of the house and come together at the front to unite in an overall form that is highly contextual.

 

One of the main drivers for this project was to be able to create a home that benefits from the best possible space arrangement and lighting without compromising the aesthetic of the more traditional neighbouring houses. The end result is a progression of spaces that merge and collide to create a mass that is both aggregated and nuanced.

 

The choice of materials runs hand in hand with the design decisions. The Dutch bricks bring forward references to the built context, while their sintered purple hues offer a sharp contrast with the surrounding greenery. Juxtaposing the masonry, large glazed surfaces place the project in a more contemporary dialogue with its site through the rear elevation.

 

When it comes to the interior, the project capitalises on local craft to create spaces that work in harmony with one another, with fluent transitions that allow for the existence of distinct environments within larger uninterrupted spaces. At the very heart of the house, a ten meter high atrium sheds light and unity into the circulation of the house, providing a dramatic transition between the front and the rear gardens.

 

Using several Passivhaus principles, the house features mechanical ventilation heat recovery system, airtightness, high-performance glazing, green roofs, and solar panels in an effort to minimise its environmental impact and energy consumption. Like the other services of the house, these systems are ultimately integrated with the design in order to blend flawlessly with the whole of the building.

 

Material Used :
1. Polished Concrete: Midland Flooring 
2. Glazing, doors, and windows: Steel Window Service & Suppliers Limited Glazing,
3. Fixed atrium rooflight: Roofmaker Pro Glazing
4. Opening rooflight: The Rooflight Company 
5. Timber floor, stair threads and risers: Finewood Flooring Limited 
6. Zinc roof specialist: RAC Roofing & Cladding Specialist 

This story is available in multiple languages
Share or Add Mill Hill House to your Collections
Project Credits
Structural Engineer
Landscape Architects
Sustainability Consultant
Golden Age Wine
next project

Golden Age Wine

Shops
2828 Culver Road, Mountain Brook, AL 35223, USA - Build completed in 2019
View Project