Pierre Boulez Saal

Pierre Boulez Saal

Architecte
RW+

Gehry Partners

HG Merz
Lieu
Berlin, Germany
Année du projet
2017
Catégorie
Salles de concert
© Volker Kreidler
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
ChairsWILDE+SPIETH
SE 68 SU Stackable Chair
Musician’s Chair
Glass - curved acoustical finsGuardian Glass
Custom fabric for audience seats Kvadrat
TextilesMaharam
Fixed audience seatsSeda Seating
Textiles - acousticalSerge Ferrari

Fiche technique du produit
Chairs
Musician’s Chair, SE 68 SU Stackable Chair by WILDE+SPIETH
Glass - curved acoustical fins
Custom fabric for audience seats
by Kvadrat
Textiles
by Maharam
Fixed audience seats
Textiles - acoustical

SALLE DE CONCERT DE L'AKADEMIE BARENBOIM-SAID

Pierre Boulez Saal en tant que Client.

Après un programme de construction de quatre ans qui s'est entièrement déroulé comme prévu, la nouvelle salle Pierre Boulez de Berlin sera inaugurée par un concert de gala sous la direction de Daniel Barenboim. En tant qu'invité d'honneur, le président allemand Joachim Gauck assistera au concert d'inauguration le 4 mars. Le tout nouvel Ensemble Boulez présentera des œuvres de Boulez, Schubert, Mozart, Jörg Widmann et Alban Berg.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

La salle Pierre Boulez a été conçue par l'architecte américain Frank Gehry et fait partie de l'Académie Barenboim-Said. Convoquée par Daniel Barenboim, l'Académie a commencé son programme d'enseignement à l'automne 2016. Située au cœur culturel de Berlin, la nouvelle salle de concert dispose de 700 places assises et offre un éventail de possibilités grâce à sa forme elliptique et à sa conception scénique flexible. L'acoustique de la salle est sous la responsabilité de l'acousticien japonais Yasuhisa Toyota, connu pour son expertise dans ce domaine. Frank Gehry et Yasuhisa Toyota ont tous deux généreusement offert leurs services à l'Académie Barenboim-Said et renoncé à toute rémunération pour leur travail.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

Le programme du concert d'ouverture est le reflet de l'inépuisable curiosité musicale de Pierre Boulez. Le compositeur, chef d'orchestre et visionnaire français, décédé en janvier 2016, a été pendant de nombreuses années l'un des plus proches collègues artistiques de Daniel Barenboim. "Pierre Boulez n'était pas seulement un grand compositeur et un grand chef d'orchestre, rappelle Barenboim, il a aussi révolutionné la musique de bas en haut. Nous dédions cette salle de musique de chambre à l'esprit d'un visionnaire musical et nous nous réjouissons des concerts et des rencontres à venir."

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

Sous le titre "Musique pour l'oreille pensante", le programme de la saison d'ouverture comprend plus de soixante concerts de musique de chambre des périodes classique et romantique, ainsi que des classiques modernes du début du XXe siècle, des compositions contemporaines, des premières mondiales, de la musique du Moyen-Orient et du jazz.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

L'Ensemble Boulez La flexibilité et la polyvalence interdisciplinaire qui sont au cœur de la philosophie de la Salle Pierre Boulez se reflètent dans le nouvel Ensemble Boulez, composé de musiciens de la Staatskapelle de Berlin et du West-Eastern Divan Orchestra de Daniel Barenboim, ainsi que d'étudiants et de professeurs de l'Académie Barenboim-Said et d'invités internationaux. Au cours de sa première saison, d'ici juillet, l'Ensemble donnera toute une série de concerts avec, entre autres, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Simon Rattle, François-Xavier Roth, Jörg Widmann et Anna Prohaska. Un nouvel album à la mémoire de Pierre Boulez À l'occasion de l'ouverture de la Salle Pierre Boulez, Deutsche Grammophon publie un enregistrement dédié à Boulez. Hommage à Boulez contient des œuvres clés du compositeur français, notamment Le marteau sans Maître dirigé par le compositeur et Dérive 2 enregistré en direct par le West-Eastern Divan Orchestra lors des BBC Proms 2012. Ce double album est disponible sur iTunes et dans les points de vente habituels du marché à partir du 3 mars 2017.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

La Barenboim-SaidAkademie (BSA) a été créée dans l'esprit du West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, établi en 1999 par Daniel Barenboim et le regretté spécialiste de la littérature américano-palestinienne Edward W. Said pour réunir sur un pied d'égalité de jeunes musiciens arabes et israéliens. En 2012, Barenboim a fondé le BSA pour former de jeunes musiciens du Moyen-Orient, avec un programme d'études ancré à la fois dans la musique et les sciences humaines. Les étudiants sont invités à suivre une bourse d'études dans le cadre d'un programme de quatre ans menant à un diplôme de bachelor. Le BSA a accueilli sa première classe de 37 étudiants à l'automne 2016, et une fois à pleine capacité, jusqu'à 90 étudiants seront inscrits à la fois.

La Pierre Boulez Saal est une nouvelle salle de concert au cœur de Berlin, Aperçu du projet construite spécialement pour le BSA. La salle est conçue pour fournir un espace de répétition exceptionnellement flexible pour les étudiants et les professeurs et pour accueillir un programme continu de performances d'étudiants, de concerts de musique de chambre, de conférences et d'événements académiques.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

La conception de la salle est le fruit d'une étroite collaboration entre Daniel Barenboim, l'architecte Frank Gehry, lauréat du prix Pritzker, et le célèbre acousticien Yasuhisa Toyota. Gehry a généreusement offert ses services au projet. La salle porte le nom du compositeur et chef d'orchestre Pierre Boulez (1925-2016), un ami de longue date de Barenboim et de Gehry, en hommage à son dévouement sans faille à l'apprentissage et à sa curiosité insatiable.

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

Emplacement FranzösischeStraße, entre le StaatsoperUnter den Linden et le bâtiment du ministère fédéral des Affaires étrangères. La Pierre Boulez Saal a été créée dans une partie de l'ancien bâtiment de stockage du Staatsoper (le Magazin), construit en 1952-55 et conçu par Richard Paulick. Elle se trouve dans le quartier de Mitte, le centre historique et culturellement dynamique de Berlin, à proximité de l'université Humboldt et de la Museumsinsel (île aux musées).

photo_credit © Volker Kreidler
© Volker Kreidler

Read story in EnglishDeutschEspañolItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Pierre Boulez Saal

Pierre Boulez Saal

Architect
RW+

Gehry Partners

HG Merz
Location
Berlin, Germany
Project Year
2017
Category
Concert Halls
© Volker Kreidler

CONCERT HALL OF THE BARENBOIM-SAID AKADEMIE

Pierre Boulez Saal as Client

After a four-year building programme that has gone entirely according to plan, Berlin’s new Pierre Boulez Hall will open with a gala concert under the direction of Daniel Barenboim. As honorary guest, German President Joachim Gauck is going to attend the opening concert on 4 March. The newly formed Boulez Ensemble will present works by Boulez, Schubert, Mozart, Jörg Widmann and Alban Berg.


The Pierre Boulez Hall has been designed by American architect Frank Gehry and is a part of the Barenboim–Said Academy. Summoned into existence by Daniel Barenboim, the Academy began its teaching programme in the autumn of 2016. Located at the cultural heart of Berlin, the new concert hall has seating for 700 and offers a range of possibilities with its elliptical shape and flexible stage design. The hall’s acoustics are the responsibility of the Japanese acoustician Yasuhisa Toyota, who is well known for his expertise in this field. Both Frank Gehry and Yasuhisa Toyota have generously donated their services to the Barenboim–Said Academy and renounced any fee for their work.


The opening concert’s programme is a reflection of Pierre Boulez’s inexhaustible musical inquisitiveness. The French composer, conductor and visionary, who died in January 2016, was for many years one of Daniel Barenboim’s closest artistic colleagues. “Pierre Boulez was not just a great composer and conductor,” recalls Barenboim, “he also revolutionized music from the ground upwards. We are dedicating this chamber music room to the spirit of a musical visionary and looking forward to the forthcoming concerts and encounters.”


Under the heading of “Music for the Thinking Ear” the programme for the opening season comprises more than sixty concerts featuring chamber music from the Classical and Romantic periods as well as modern classics from the early 20th century, contemporary compositions, world premieres, music from the Middle East and jazz.


The Boulez Ensemble The flexibility and interdisciplinary versatility that are central to the philosophy of the Pierre Boulez Hall are reflected in the newly formed Boulez Ensemble, which is made up of musicians from the Berlin Staatskapelle and from Daniel Barenboim’s West-Eastern Divan Orchestra as well as students and teachers from the Barenboim–Said Academy and international guests. In the course of its opening season between now and July the Ensemble will give a whole series of concerts featuring, among others, Daniel Barenboim, Sir Simon Rattle, François-Xavier Roth, Jörg Widmann and Anna Prohaska. A new album in memory of Pierre Boulez To mark the opening of the Pierre Boulez Hall, Deutsche Grammophon is releasing a recording dedicated to Boulez. Hommage à Boulez contains key works by the French composer, including Le marteau sans Maître conducted by the composer and Dérive 2 recorded live by the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra at the 2012 BBC Proms. This double album is available on iTunes and from the usual market outlets from 3 March 2017.


The Barenboim-Said Akademie (BSA) was created in the spirit of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, established in 1999 by Daniel Barenboim and the late American-Palestinian literary scholar Edward W. Said to bring together as equals young Arab and Israeli musicians. In 2012, Barenboim founded the BSA to train young musicians from the Middle East, with a curriculum rooted in both music and the humanities. Students are invited to study on scholarship in a four-year program leading to a bachelor’s degree. The BSA welcomed its first class of 37 students in fall 2016, and once at capacity, up to 90 students will be enrolled at a time.


The Pierre Boulez Saal is a new concert hall in the heart of Berlin, Project Overview purpose-built for the BSA. The room is designed to provide an exceptionally flexible rehearsal space for students and faculty and to accommodate an ongoing schedule of student performances, chamber music concerts, lectures, conferences and academic events.


The design for the hall emerged out of a close collaboration among Daniel Barenboim, Pritzker Prize-winning architect Frank Gehry and acclaimed acoustician Yasuhisa Toyota. Gehry has generously donated his services to the project. The hall is named for composer and conductor Pierre Boulez (1925-2016), a longtime friend of both Barenboim and Gehry, in tribute to his relentless dedication to learning and his insatiable curiosity.


Location Französische Straße, between the Staatsoper Unter den Linden and the Federal Foreign Office Building. The Pierre Boulez Saal has been created in a portion of the Staatsoper’s former storage building (the Magazin), constructed in 1952-55 and designed by Richard Paulick. It stands in the Mitte district, the culturally vibrant and historic center of Berlin, in close proximity to Humboldt University and Museumsinsel (Museum Island).


Share or Add Pierre Boulez Saal to your Collections
Milken Community Schools
next project

Milken Community Schools

Universities
Los Angeles, CA, USA - Build completed in 2016
View Project