Shepparton Art Museum

Shepparton Art Museum

Architecte
Denton Corker Marshall
Lieu
Shepparton Victoria, Australia | View Map
Année du projet
2020
Catégorie
Musées
John Gollings
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
Gallery lightingiGuzzini
Anodised aluminiumCorten Steel
Internal glazed partitionsCriterion Industries
Operable wallsDorma
Recycled Iron Bark timberEco Timber
Gallery lightingErco

Fiche technique du produit
Gallery lighting
Anodised aluminium
Internal glazed partitions
Operable walls
by Dorma
Recycled Iron Bark timber
Gallery lighting
by Erco

Musée d'art de Shepparton

Denton Corker Marshall en tant que Architectes.

La conception de SAM est caractérisée par la simplicité et la clarté, avec une imagerie convaincante créant une destination culturelle de référence pour Shepparton. Il est situé à l'approche du centre ville, dans un parc populaire de la plaine de la rivière Goulburn.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Le projet a été remporté lors d'un concours limité. Il comprend un musée d'art, un centre d'information pour les visiteurs, un centre d'art communautaire aborigène Kaiela Arts et un espace événementiel de 150 personnes pouvant fonctionner en dehors des heures de travail pour des conférences, des mariages et des occasions sociales, le tout dans une forme cubique de 5 000 m2.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Un rez-de-chaussée restreint, nécessaire en raison d'un canal de crue traversant le site, a été transformé en une opportunité de conception. La petite empreinte au sol a été extrudée verticalement sur cinq niveaux pour créer un musée d'art haut et petit. Cette stratégie maximise l'espace du parc très utilisé, tout en créant un phare dans le paysage plat et bas de Shepparton. La hauteur offre également des vues panoramiques depuis l'espace événementiel situé sur le toit, sur le lac et la réserve de gomme de la rivière Rouge de Goulburn.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

La conception est ingénieusement intégrée au parc par le biais d'une colline artistique spectaculaire, qui dissimule tous les services du bâtiment, l'arrière-boutique et le chargement sous le parc étendu. La colline d'art a l'avantage de créer efficacement un niveau de sol supérieur, permettant au café du musée de profiter d'une vue surélevée tout en étant directement relié au parc et accessible depuis celui-ci.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

À l'intérieur, il s'agit d'une expérience muséale hautement lisible, transparente et accessible, centrée sur une galerie de circulation ouverte. L'aménagement intérieur - la relation des espaces, l'orientation intuitive, les relations logiques - se superpose à des contrastes de drame, de réflexion, de perspectives, d'introspection et de découverte.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Quatre galeries différentes, d'une superficie totale de 800 m2, sont aménagées. Deux des galeries sont conçues selon la norme ASHRAE (American Society of HeatingRefrigeration and Air conditioningEngineers) de classe AA afin de pouvoir accueillir des expositions prêtées par des musées et des galeries de premier ordre. Cela a nécessité l'installation de climatiseurs et de préconditionneurs dédiés, ainsi que la conception de l'enveloppe du bâtiment, des cloisons internes et des portes coulissantes en verre selon des exigences d'étanchéité à l'air plus élevées. Des normes similaires sont appliquées aux salles de préparation et de conservation et au stockage des collections.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Les façades du SAM sont constituées de quatre fines plaques flottantes en forme de L suspendues dans le paysage. Elles se regroupent, à des hauteurs différentes et avec des matérialités contrastées, pour former une composition à une échelle comparable à celle des gommiers de la rivière rouge. En subvertissant l'expression de la forme construite en une composition d'éléments sculpturaux abstraits, l'échelle devient indéterminée.                                             

Cela permet à chaque plaque de façade de devenir une toile, insérée dans le paysage arboré d'ombre et de lumière, capable de se transformer en base pour des installations temporaires ou des projections d'images comme caractéristique intégrale plutôt qu'accessoire.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

SAM est un bâtiment dont la forme physique est livrée à un jeu de couleurs et de patines changeant avec le temps et l'heure de la journée. Il est à la fois puissant et récessif. Chaque plaque est un élément à part entière, suffisamment puissant pour être érodé par une combinaison de grandes ouvertures perforées et de plus petites, là où une perspective de l'intérieur est nécessaire. En effet, le bâtiment est conçu comme une "sculpture terrestre".

Caption

Matériauxutilisés :
1. Facade cladding: Anodisedaluminium, Corten Steel 
Recycled Iron Bark timber – EcoTimber Group, 
2. Flooring: Honed and polished concrete.
3. Doors: Internal glazed partitions – Criterion
Operable walls – Dorma, Lotus 
4. Interior lighting: Gallery lighting - Erco, iGuzzini

Read story in EnglishDeutschItalianoPortuguês and Español

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Shepparton Art Museum

Shepparton Art Museum

Architect
Denton Corker Marshall
Location
Shepparton Victoria, Australia | View Map
Project Year
2020
Category
Museums
John Gollings
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
Gallery lightingiGuzzini
Anodised aluminiumCorten Steel
Internal glazed partitionsCriterion Industries
Operable wallsDorma
Recycled Iron Bark timberEco Timber
Gallery lightingErco

Product Spec Sheet
Gallery lighting
Anodised aluminium
Internal glazed partitions
Operable walls
by Dorma
Recycled Iron Bark timber
Gallery lighting
by Erco

Shepparton Art Museum

Denton Corker Marshall as Architects

The design of SAM is characterised by simplicity and clarity, with compelling imagery creating a landmark cultural destination for Shepparton. It is located on the approach to the town centre, within a popular park within the flat Goulburn River Plain.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

The scheme was won in a limited competition. It includes an art museum, Visitors’ Information Centre, Kaiela Arts Aboriginal Community Arts Centre and 150 person event space able to operate out of hours for conferences, weddings and social occasions, all within a 5,000m2 cubic form.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

A restricted ground floor, required due to a floodway across the site, was turned into a design opportunity. The small footprint was extruded vertically over five levels to generate the distinctive small-and-tall art museum. This strategy maximises much used park space, while also creating a beacon in the low, flat Shepparton landscape. The height also affords panoramic views from the rooftop events space across the lake and Goulburn Red River Gum Reserve beyond.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

The design is ingeniously integrated into the park via a dramatic Art Hill, screening all building services, back-of-house and loading under the expanded parkland. The Art Hill has the advantage of effectively creating an upper ground level, enabling the museum cafe to enjoy an elevated outlook whilst being directly connected to, and accessible from, the park.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Internally, it is a highly legible, transparent and accessible museum experience, centred around an open, circulation galleria. The interior design – the relationship of spaces, intuitive wayfinding, logical relationships – are overlaid with contrasts of drama, reflection, outlook, introspection and discovery.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

Four different galleries, totalling 800m2, are accommodated. Two of the galleries are designed to ASHRAE (American Society of Heating Refrigeration and Air conditioning Engineers) Class AA standard to be able to accommodate exhibitions on loan from premium museums and galleries. This required dedicated AHU and preconditioners along with the building envelope, internal partitions and glass sliding doors being designed to higher air tightness requirements. Similar standards are applied to the preparation and conservation rooms and collection storage.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

The facades of SAM comprise four thin floating L-shaped plates suspended in the landscape. They group together, at different heights and contrasting materiality, to form a composition at a scale comparable to the red river gums. By subverting the expression of built form into a composition of abstract sculptural elements, scale becomes indeterminate.

This allows each facade plate to become a canvas, layered into the treed landscape of dappled light and shade, able to transform as a base for temporary installations or projection imagery as an integral rather than incidental characteristic.

photo_credit John Gollings
John Gollings

SAM is a building whose physical form is surrendered to a shifting play of colour and patina changing with weather and time of day. It is simultaneously powerful and recessive. Each plate is an element in its own right, powerful enough to be eroded with a combination of large punched and smaller perforated openings where outlook, from within, is required. In effect, the building is conceived as ‘land sculpture’.

Caption

Material Used:
1. Facade cladding: Anodised aluminium, Corten Steel 
Recycled Iron Bark timber – EcoTimber Group, 
2. Flooring: Honed and polished concrete.
3. Doors: Internal glazed partitions – Criterion
Operable walls – Dorma, Lotus
4. Interior lighting: Gallery lighting - Erco, iGuzzini

This story is available in multiple languages
Share or Add Shepparton Art Museum to your Collections
NB apartment
next project

NB apartment

Apartments
Itaim Bibi, São Paulo, Brazil - Build completed in 2020
View Project