The St. John’s Library was built in 1915 as a part of the Carnegie library program which sought to provide community libraries to cities around the world. The 100 year old St. John's Library sits on the main thoroughfare of Salter Street in Winnipeg. It has a strong urban presence in its neighbourhood and serves a far reaching and diverse community. The new addition and entrance to the library is on the prominent south facade of the building and showcases intimate reading and provides visible pedestrian and accessible access to the main library area.
The addition renovations to the existing building allows this heritage library to continue to serve the community by making all areas completely accessible, providing the existing rooms and spaces with updated equipment and resources, and opening the library up to the neighbourhood, both physically and metaphorically.
Material Used :
1. Alumicor - Curtainwall, Thermawall 2600
2. Assa Abloy - Sliding Entrance Doors, Besam SL500 Eco Door and SL500 CGL
3. Bauco Access Panel Solutions Inc. - Ceiling Mounted Access Panels, Bauco Plus II
4. Fluxwerx - Light Fixtures, "Profile" series
5. Eureka - Light Fixtures, Cycle 4800 Series
6. FLOR - Carpet Tile, House Pet (Ferret and Chinchilla)
7. Armstrong - Suspended Ceiling, WOODWORKS Linear Veneered Planks