Case Study house

Case Study house

Architecte
Woods + Dangaran
Lieu
Los Angeles, CA, USA | View Map
Année du projet
2019
Catégorie
Maisons privées
Francis Dreis
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
Table LampsVibia
CountertopsCaesarstone
FabricantsRimadesio
7-in wide fumed European oakMadera Surfaces
LightingRich Brilliant Willing
Crisp, LED Table Lamp
PendantLambert & Fils
Dot 14

Fiche technique du produit
Table Lamps
Countertops
Fabricants
7-in wide fumed European oak
Lighting
Crisp, LED Table Lamp by Rich Brilliant Willing
Pendant
Dot 14 by Lambert & Fils

Maison d'études de cas

Woods + Dangaran en tant que Architectes.

Ce design fait office de maison d'étude de cas du 21e siècle, un prototype pour explorer le potentiel de nouvelles maisons sur mesure dans les banlieues bien établies de Los Angeles. La maison relève un défi complexe : offrir à ses résidents un accès à la lumière du jour, capter les brises dominantes et créer des espaces extérieurs accueillants tout en maintenant une expérience spatiale intérieure de haute qualité et un niveau d'intimité confortable, le tout sur un terrain de banlieue de taille standard.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Description du projet

Située sur un terrain de 50 x 120 dans la banlieue de Los Angeles, cette maison de 3 600 pieds carrés compte cinq chambres et trois salles de bain ; le rez-de-chaussée est ouvert et comprend la cuisine, les salles à manger et les salles de séjour. Le garage détaché a une superficie de 500 pieds carrés.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Le plan de la maison met l'accent sur la libre circulation de l'espace intérieur vers l'extérieur tout en assurant aux propriétaires une intimité avec la rue, l'allée et les propriétés adjacentes. Les technologies et les matériaux de construction ont été sélectionnés pour soutenir la conception. Une fondation structurelle en dalle sur sol assure une connexion intérieure/extérieure sans faille grâce à deux grandes portes extérieures en forme de poche sur l'axe est-ouest et une grande porte en forme de poche reliant la grande pièce à la cour. Toute la largeur et la longueur de la propriété peuvent être vues d'un seul point dans la cuisine, le cœur de la maison.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

La relation réfléchie du bâtiment avec le site est particulièrement évidente dans son orientation solaire. En plaçant stratégiquement des portes à poche vitrées, des puits de lumière et des fenêtres aux couloirs de circulation, la maison ne dépend pas de l'éclairage artificiel pendant la journée. Un atrium de deux étages sert de puits de lumière pour la salle familiale, l'entrée arrière et la suite principale. La taille du vitrage a été maximisée, mais le nombre d'ouvertures a été réduit au minimum afin que l'isolation des murs extérieurs soit peu interrompue. Les ouvertures sur les façades est et ouest sont protégées par des surplombs.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

La maison a une masse minimale et des matériaux modestes. Le deuxième niveau s'éloigne du recul de la cour avant, en respectant l'échelle du quartier. Le plâtre extérieur de couleur terre complète le contexte et est encore adouci par des figuiers rampants. Les dimensions ont été calculées pour maximiser l'efficacité et réduire les coûts et le gaspillage. Les pièces ont été dimensionnées de manière à éliminer le besoin de colonnes et de poutres en acier. La hauteur des plafonds a été fixée à 9'-6" afin de pouvoir utiliser une longueur standard de bois de 10 pieds avec un minimum de gaspillage. Tous les murs extérieurs sont encadrés de bois de 2' x 6' afin de maximiser les valeurs d'isolation.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Bien que la conception moderne relève officiellement le défi de construire avec sensibilité dans une communauté en évolution qui contient de nombreuses maisons originales issues des aménagements des années 1930, elle poursuit également une préoccupation plus humaniste : Offrir un refuge.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Les espaces de vie de la maison sont paisibles, confortables et privés - des qualités qui ne sont pas toujours associées au modernisme. L'une des façons dont la conception atteint cet objectif est de créer un lien visuel et physique avec la nature. Chaque espace de la maison a une vue ou un accès à l'extérieur à une échelle et dans un cadre appropriés. Définie par la salle familiale et la suite principale, un atrium central de deux étages met en valeur un pin noir japonais de 30 ans, une magnifique sculpture naturelle. Le coin petit-déjeuner s'ouvre sur la cour avant, plantée d'un mélange texturé d'herbes ornementales et d'oliviers. En revanche, l'arrière-cour est une pelouse entretenue.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Une autre façon d'obtenir un effet apaisant est d'échelonner et de séquencer rigoureusement les espaces intérieurs. Il en résulte des expériences simultanées d'ouverture et d'intimité ; ces deux qualités sont essentielles pour créer un sanctuaire. Les coins, les niches et les petits espaces de retraite sont soigneusement découpés dans le plan ouvert. Même la douche principale présente une puissante dichotomie spatiale : son enceinte haute et étroite est surmontée d'une lucarne, ouvrant le puits de lumière fermé de l'espace.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
Caption
Caption

Read story in EnglishItalianoPortuguêsEspañol and Deutsch

Crédits de projet
Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Case Study house

Case Study house

Architect
Woods + Dangaran
Location
Los Angeles, CA, USA | View Map
Project Year
2019
Category
Private Houses
Francis Dreis
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
Table LampsVibia
CountertopsCaesarstone
ManufacturersRimadesio
7-in wide fumed European oakMadera Surfaces
LightingRich Brilliant Willing
Crisp, LED Table Lamp
PendantLambert & Fils
Dot 14

Product Spec Sheet
Table Lamps
Countertops
Manufacturers
7-in wide fumed European oak
Lighting
Crisp, LED Table Lamp by Rich Brilliant Willing
Pendant
Dot 14 by Lambert & Fils

Case Study house

Woods + Dangaran as Architects

This design acts as a 21st-century Case Study house, a prototype for exploring the potential for new custom homes within well-established Los Angeles suburbs. The home addresses a complex challenge: providing its residents with access to daylight, capturing prevailing breezes, and creating inviting exterior spaces while maintaining a high-quality interior spatial experience and a comfortable level of privacy—all on a standard-size suburban lot.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Project Description
Set on a 50 x 120 lot in suburban Los Angeles, the 3,600-square-foot house has five bedrooms and three baths; the ground floor open plan comprises the kitchen, dining areas, and family/living rooms. The detached garage is 500 square feet.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

The floor plan focuses on the free flow of interior to exterior space while providing the homeowners privacy from the street, alley, and adjacent properties. Construction technologies and materials were selected to support the design. A structural slab-on-grade foundation ensures a seamless indoor/outdoor connection via two oversize, exterior pocket doors on the east-west axis and one large pocket door linking the great room to the courtyard. The entire width and length of the property can be seen from a single point in the kitchen, the heart of the home.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

The building’s considered relationship with the site is particularly evident in its solar orientation. By strategically placing glazed pocket doors, skylights, and windows at circulation corridors, the house does not depend on artificial lighting during the day. A two-story atrium serves as a light well for the family room, rear entry, and the master suite. Glazing was maximized in size, but the number of openings was minimized so that exterior wall insulation would have little interruption. Openings on the east and west elevations are protected with overhangs.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

The home is minimal in massing and modest in material. The second level pulls back from the front yard setback, respecting the scale of the neighborhood. Earth-toned exterior plaster complements the context and is further softened by creeping fig vines. Dimensions were calculated to maximize efficiency and reduce cost and waste. Rooms were sized to eliminate the need for steel columns and beams. Ceiling heights were set at 9’-6” so that a standard 10-foot lumber length could be used with minimal waste. All exterior walls are framed in 2’ x 6’ lumber in order to maximize insulation values.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

While the modern design formally addresses the challenge of building sensitively in an evolving community that contains many original homes from the tract developments of the 1930s, it also pursues a more humanist concern: Providing sanctuary.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

The home’s living spaces are peaceful, comfortable, and private—qualities that aren’t always associated with modernism. One way the design achieves this is by connecting visually and physically with nature. Every space in the home has an appropriately-scaled, framed view or access to the outdoors. Defined by the family room and master suite, a two-story central atrium showcases a 30-year-old Japanese black pine, a beautiful natural sculpture. The breakfast nook opens onto the front yard, planted with a textured mix of ornamental grasses and olive trees. In contrast, the backyard is a manicured lawn.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis

Another way the design achieves a calming effect is by rigorously scaling and sequencing the interior spaces. This results in simultaneous experiences of openness and intimacy; both qualities are essential to creating a sanctuary. Nooks, niches, and small spaces for retreat are carefully carved out of the open floor plan. Even the master shower has a powerful spatial dichotomy: its tall, narrow enclosure is topped by a skylight, opening the closed shaft of space.

photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
photo_credit Francis Dreis
Francis Dreis
Caption
Caption

Read story in ItalianoPortuguêsEspañolFrançais and Deutsch

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News
Experimental Co-Housing Denver project by Productora provides a compelling model for centrally located, low-cost housing
17 May 2022 News
Experimental Co-Housing Denver project by Productora provides a compelling model for centrally located, low-cost housing

Only a few miles from the downtown area of Denver, this experimental co-housing project by Productor... More

Baumschlager Eberle Architecten create an architectural statement for a natural setting in Alpe Furx
17 May 2022 News
Baumschlager Eberle Architecten create an architectural statement for a natural setting in Alpe Furx

On a sloping site in the Austrian ski resort of Alpe Furx, this holiday and leisure development by B... More

Under the Willow Tree by Objekt Architechten provides residents an ecologically-minded house in a beautiful green setting
14 May 2022 News
Under the Willow Tree by Objekt Architechten provides residents an ecologically-minded house in a beautiful green setting

In the middle of the countryside at the highest point of the village of Ninove, Belgium, an existing... More

Park Associati’s Luxottica Digital Factory project reinterprets and revitalizes an existing industrial building in Milan
14 May 2022 News
Park Associati’s Luxottica Digital Factory project reinterprets and revitalizes an existing industrial building in Milan

In Milan, Park Associati’s Luxottica Digital Factory project reinterprets an existing industri... More

Luconi architetti mix modern elements with traditional Alpine architecture
14 May 2022 News
Luconi architetti mix modern elements with traditional Alpine architecture

Located in the Alpine region of Madesimo, Italy, Baita MV by Luconi architetti comprises an extensio... More

OMA inverts theater typology by plugging three cantilevered theaters into a central cube
13 May 2022 News
OMA inverts theater typology by plugging three cantilevered theaters into a central cube

Rem Koolhaas and David Gianotten see the Taipei Performing Arts Center as close as they have ever be... More

Top 10 Trending Armchairs
13 May 2022 News
Top 10 Trending Armchairs

Architects and designers use armchairs to complete spaces visually and functionally. Popular armchai... More

Material and structural capacity of concrete defines the design of Casa de Alisa
12 May 2022 News
Material and structural capacity of concrete defines the design of Casa de Alisa

In Nonthaburi, Thailand, Casa de Alisa by Stu/D/O Architects is defined by the material and structur... More