Walter Anderson Museum of Art

Walter Anderson Museum of Art

Architekt
Tall Architects
Standort
510 Washington Ave., Ocean Springs, MS, 39564, USA | View Map
Projektjahr
2021
Kategorie
Museen
Paige Geter
Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt

ElementMarkeProduct Name
Flooring: MarmoleumForbo Flooring Systems
MCT tile
Windows: Aluminum CladSierra Pacific Windows
H3
Facade cladding: Trim, 1x12 Cementitious BoardJames Hardie
Interior lightingSatco
Fiberglass, Exterior DoorTherma-Tru Doors

Produkt-Spezifikationsblatt
Flooring: Marmoleum
MCT tile nach Forbo Flooring Systems
Windows: Aluminum Clad
Facade cladding: Trim, 1x12 Cementitious Board
Interior lighting
nach Satco
Fiberglass, Exterior Door

Walter Anderson Museum für Kunst - Courtney Blossman Art Cottage

Tall Architects als Architekten

Das Walter Anderson Museum of Art beauftragte die Architekten mit der Renovierung und Restaurierung eines Cottage, das das Museum für Bildungskurse nutzt und das als "The Art Cottage" bezeichnet wurde. Die Renovierung des Cottages, eines Queen-Anne-Gebäudes aus dem Jahr 1890, ist die erste Phase der neuen Campus-Erweiterung des Museums, des Creative Complex, der aus Unterrichtsräumen, Veranstaltungsräumen und Ateliers bestehen wird.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

Das Projekt umfasste eine Neugestaltung der Innenräume, einschließlich der Verlegung der Treppe (die bei einer von mehreren Renovierungen hinzugefügt wurde) nach außen, der Umwandlung von zwei kleinen Räumen in ein großes Atelier, dem Hinzufügen einer hinteren Veranda, der Umgestaltung des Obergeschosses für Gästeunterkünfte und der Schaffung von Barrierefreiheit im gesamten Gebäude.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

Der Wunsch des Museums war es, eine zeitliche Abfolge von der historischen Straßenansicht über das Innere bis hin zur neuen Veranda zu zeigen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde die vordere Galerie in ihrer ursprünglichen Form wiederhergestellt, mit Wänden und Decke aus Perlpappe, Nut- und Federboden und zwei Türen, die in das Hauptatelier führen. Das anschließende Hauptatelier ist ein offener Arbeitsbereich, der durch Grafiken an der Decke eine Hommage an Andersons Blockdrucke darstellt.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

Dieser Raum wird für Kurse, Treffen und Ausstellungen genutzt. Im hinteren Teil des Hauses befindet sich ein kleineres Atelier - ehemals ein Lagerraum - mit Fenstern, die auf eine Veranda blicken, die in die Landschaft hineinzuwachsen scheint. Die Veranda und ihre Amphitheater-Treppe bieten Platz für Kurse, Vorträge und Konzerte im Freien. Sie gibt den Ton für die zweite Phase der Campuserweiterung an. Die durchgängig verwendete blaugrüne Farbe wurde von Walters Boot abgeleitet.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter
photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter
Caption
Caption

Verwendete Materialien :

  1. Verkleidung der Fassade:
    Verkleidung, 1x6 Holzschindeln, gestrichen
    Verkleidung, 1x12 Zementplatte, James Hardie
  1. Bodenbelag: Marmoleum, MCT, FORBO
  2. Türen: Fiberglas, Außentür, Therma-Tru
  3. Fenster: Aluminiumverkleidet, H3, Sierra Pacific
  4. Bedachung: Galvalume, gewelltes Metall
  5. Innenbeleuchtung: Schiene, LAZER, HALO / Aufbau, NUVO, SATCO
  6. Inneneinrichtung: Holz, Tischlerarbeiten, Sonderanfertigungen

Read story in EnglishEspañolFrançaisItaliano and Português

Featured Projects
Latest Products
News

Walter Anderson Museum of Art

Walter Anderson Museum of Art

Architect
Tall Architects
Location
510 Washington Ave., Ocean Springs, MS, 39564, USA | View Map
Project Year
2021
Category
Museums
Paige Geter
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrandProduct Name
Flooring: MarmoleumForbo Flooring Systems
MCT tile
Windows: Aluminum CladSierra Pacific Windows
H3
Facade cladding: Trim, 1x12 Cementitious BoardJames Hardie
Interior lightingSatco
Fiberglass, Exterior DoorTherma-Tru Doors

Product Spec Sheet
Flooring: Marmoleum
Windows: Aluminum Clad
Facade cladding: Trim, 1x12 Cementitious Board
Interior lighting
by Satco
Fiberglass, Exterior Door

Walter Anderson Museum of Art – Courtney Blossman Art Cottage

Tall Architects as Architects

The Walter Anderson Museum of Art asked the architects to design a renovation and  restoration of a cottage the museum uses for educational classes, which had  been deemed “The Art Cottage”. The renovation of the cottage, an 1890s Queen Anne structure, is the first phase in the museum’s new campus expansion, the Creative Complex, which will consist of classroom space, event space, and studios.  

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

The project consisted of an interior reimagining, including relocating the stair (added during one of several renovations) to the exterior, opening up two small rooms into one large studio, adding a rear porch, reconfiguring the upstairs for guest lodging, and providing accessibility throughout.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

The museum’s request was to show a progression through time—past to present—from the historic street elevation, through the interior, to the new porch. With this in mind, the front gallery was restored to its original layout with beadboard walls and ceiling, tongue and groove floor, and two doors leading into the main studio. The main studio that follows is an open workspace that pays homage to Anderson’s block prints via graphics on the ceiling. 

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter

This space is used for classes, meetings, and exhibitions. Towards the rear of the cottage, there is a smaller studio—formerly a storage room—with windows overlooking a porch that appears to be exploding into the landscape. The porch, and its amphitheater stairs, provide space for outdoor classes, lectures, and concerts. It sets the tone for the second phase of the campus expansion. The teal color used throughout was derived from Walter’s boat.

photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter
photo_credit Paige Geter
Paige Geter
Caption
Caption

Material Used :
1. Facade cladding:  
Siding, 1x6 Wood Shiplap, Painted
Trim, 1x12 Cementitious Board, James Hardie

2. Flooring: Marmoleum, MCT, FORBO
3. Doors: Fiberglass, Exterior Door, Therma-Tru
4. Windows: Aluminum Clad, H3, Sierra Pacific 
5. Roofing: Galvalume, Corrugated Metal
6. Interior lighting: Track, LAZER, HALO / Surface Mount, NUVO, SATCO
7. Interior furniture: Wood, Millwork, Custom

This story is available in multiple languages
Project Credits
Lincoln Park House
next project

Lincoln Park House

Private Houses
Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL, USA - Build completed in 2017
View Project