Valetta House

Valetta House

Architecte
Office S&M

Studio Sputnik
Lieu
Ealing, London, UK | View Map
Année du projet
2017
Catégorie
Maisons privées
French + Tye
Fiche technique du produit

ÉlémentMarqueProduct Name
Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle Marley Eternit
Yellow GroutMapei
Encaustic Otura TilesBert & May
Yellow arched windowsDurable Windows
Paint Colours Farrow & Ball
Herringbone kitchen splash back tilesJohnson

Fiche technique du produit
Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle
Yellow Grout
by Mapei
Encaustic Otura Tiles
Yellow arched windows
Paint Colours
Herringbone kitchen splash back tiles
by Johnson

Maison Valette

Office S&M en tant que Architectes.

Une famille de quatre jeunes filles a demandé à Office S&M de rénover et d'agrandir leur maison afin de créer plus d'espace de vie, de sorte que chaque enfant ait son propre espace dans la maison. L'étroitesse du plan existant nous obligeait à être créatifs avec l'espace. En supprimant certains murs, en ouvrant des fenêtres intérieures et en utilisant des puits de lumière, nous avons pu éclairer les espaces plus profondément. Nous avons créé une maison "adaptée aux enfants" au sens le plus large du terme, en ajoutant des courbes aux murs, une rampe ludique en forme de serpent et d'escabeau qui traverse la maison, et une fenêtre en arche pour chaque enfant.

 

Pendant ce temps, les adultes ont droit à une grande variété de matériaux, des dalles de sol en cautchouc et des carreaux émaillés à chevrons, aux extrémités sphériques des rampes en marbre et aux bardeaux de cèdre tendre à l'extérieur. La maison dispose désormais d'un intérieur ouvert conçu pour répondre au besoin d'espace de la famille, avec un escalier et un puits de lumière pour relier les trois étages et faire descendre la lumière au rez-de-chaussée. Une palette de couleurs soigneusement sélectionnées est utilisée pour réfléchir la lumière chaude dans tous les espaces.

 

En ouvrant les fenêtres, la vue sur le hall et un puits de lumière au-delà de l'escalier, cette lumière chaude a créé une sensation de volume dans la maison victorienne existante. Au quotidien, et de saison en saison, le passage du temps est marqué par des conditions de lumière changeantes dans toute la maison. Au fur et à mesure que les enfants grandissent, la maison change avec eux, avec des bardeaux de cèdre arrondis à l'extérieur qui s'altèrent et changent de couleur au fil du temps. Dans ce projet, la couleur a été traitée comme un matériau de construction essentiel. Les couleurs ont été discutées avec les clients dès le début, et après de nombreux dessins, modèles et essais sur place, la palette finale a été choisie. L'utilisation de teintes terreuses et vives sur les murs de la maison a permis une transformation complète des espaces.

 

Le mur longeant l'escalier a été peint dans des tons de bleu profond avec une lanterne jaune en haut, permettant à la lumière changeante de pénétrer dans les espaces situés en dessous. La couleur a été utilisée pour refléter une lumière plus douce dans les différentes pièces par des lanternes de toit et des fenêtres en arc. Cela permettait également de s'assurer que la lumière changeait constamment dans les pièces tout au long de la journée et des saisons. La myriade de matériaux, de textures et de couleurs utilisés dans la maison permettait un véritable festin pour les sens.

 

Matériaux utilisés :

  1. Facade Cladding – Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle From Marley Eternit
  1. Hall Floor Tiles – Bert & May Encaustic Otura Tiles
  1. Paint Colours - Farrow And Ball Paint
  1. Splashback Kitchen Tiles – Topps Tiles Artisau Gloss Pink Tiles
  1. Sputnik Estudio - Santorini Yellow Wall Lights
  1. Mapei - Yellow Grout
Cette histoire est disponible en plusieurs langues
Crédits de projet
Architectes
Santorini Yellow Wall Lights
Lima House
prochain projet

Lima House

Maisons privées
Lima, Peru - Construction terminée in 2018
Voir le projet

Valetta House

Valetta House

Architect
Office S&M

Studio Sputnik
Location
Ealing, London, UK
Project Year
2017
Category
Private Houses
French + Tye
Product Spec Sheet

ElementBrand
Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle Marley Eternit
Yellow GroutMapei
Encaustic Otura TilesBert & May
Yellow arched windowsDurable Windows
Paint Colours Farrow & Ball
Herringbone kitchen splash back tilesJohnson

Product Spec Sheet
Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle
Yellow Grout
by Mapei
Encaustic Otura Tiles
Yellow arched windows
Paint Colours
Herringbone kitchen splash back tiles
by Johnson

Valetta House

Office S&M as Architects

A family with four young girls, commissioned Office S&M to refurbish and extend their home in order to create more living space, so that each child had their own space in the house. The narrow existing plan meant we had to be creative with the space. By removing some walls, opening up internal windows, and using light wells, we have been able to bringlight deeper into the spaces. We created a “child-friendly” home in the broadest sense of the word, adding curves to thewalls, a playful snakes-and-ladders bannister running through the house, and an archedwindow for each child.


Meanwhile, adults are treated to a rich variety of materials, fromencaustic floor slabs and glazed herringbone tiles, to spherical marble handrail ends and softcedar shingle on the exterior. The house now features an open-plan interior designed to meet the family's need for space,with a staircase and lightwell to connect the three floors and bring light down to the groundfloor. A palette of carefully selected colours are used to reflect warm light throughout thespaces.


By opening up windows, a view to the hall, and a lightwell past the stair, this warmlight created a feeling of volume in the existing Victorian house. Day-to-day, and from season to season, the passage of time is marked by changing light conditions throughout the house. As the children grow up, the house will change with themtoo, with therounded cedar shingles on the exterior weathering and changing colour overtime. In this project colour was treated as an essential building material. Colours were discussed with the clients from the outset, and after many drawings, models, and on-site tests, the final palette was chosen. Using earthy, bold hues on the walls of the house allowed for a complete transformation ofthe spaces.


The wall running alongside the staircase was painted in deep blue tones with ayellow lantern at the top, allowing ever changing light to be carried through into the spacesbelow. Colour was used to reflect a softer light into the different rooms through roof lightsand arched windows. This also ensured that the light would constantly be changing in the rooms throughout the day and the seasons. The myriad of materials, textures and colours used in the house allowed for a feast for the senses.


Material Used:

1. Facade Cladding – Fancy Butt Round Cedar Shingle From Marley Eternit

2. Hall Floor Tiles – Bert & May Encaustic Otura Tiles

3. Paint Colours - Farrow And Ball Paint

4. Splashback Kitchen Tiles – Topps Tiles Artisau Gloss Pink Tiles

5. Sputnik Estudio - Santorini Yellow Wall Lights

6. Mapei - Yellow Grout

Project team
Santorini Yellow Wall Lights
Architects
Brazil Pavilion at Milan EXPO 2015
next project

Brazil Pavilion at Milan EXPO 2015

Exhibitions
Milan, Italy - Build completed in 2015
View Project
Archello

Want to see more like this?

Subscribe to Archello's newsletter